Central Texas Weather Nov-Jan 2007


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
January 31st 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Glazed shrubGlazed shrubGlazed shrub

Almost one inch of ice covered the leaves and branches of this shrub
Leser aus der alten Heimat bitte den Kommentar am Schluss beachten!

The summer is gone as well in Texas. Also was this entry with the server crash of travelblog.org on Aug 1, 2007. I started this entry once but did complete it some time later, which was fatal with the crash. While the title and the photos are still here the whole text is missing. A following entry I prepared is gone completely. Apparently there is a chance that this data will come back but I doubt it. Anyways!

I can't blame them, it's a free service and we have to be thankful that someone is putting all the effort in this at all. Unfortunately for you I don't want to recreate this text. First I can't because I don't know what I wrote and second it's only about weather 😊 Thanks to Google's cache, I found the old published webpage and I have the full text again. So as a Bonus here it is again:

The summer is gone as well in Texas. I mean temperatures in the 90s Fahrenheit or 30s in Celsius. November even started with highs in the mid 60s which was quite a
Defrosting my carDefrosting my carDefrosting my car

It took more than one hour to defrost my car by tearing large plates of ice from the windshield and body. Not counting the 15 minutes I required to get into the car starting the motor.
shock at first but the rest of that month was real nice and comfortable. We also had more precipitation which was very interesting because many plants started to shine in full colors again for only a short period, though. Same here, fall is the time when many trees let go of their leaves and expose their skeleton.

In December it got much cooler but a few days it was still absolutely acceptable to wear shorts and a T-Shirt. And a couple days it was really nice till late at night and even the following morning temperatures were still pleasing. This mixed weather was holding on into the new year and until mid of January 2007.

Beginning with the 15th of January Central Texas was covered in ice for two days. From the north a cold front was pushing into Texas while a lot of humid air was shifting from the south-west over this cold front. Guess what happens when you pour water into cold air? Exactly, it freezes! Like a glazed Doughnut everything was covered with a thick solid layer of ice. Basically everyone was staying at home and only desperate or otherwise crazy people were heading outside and driving on the street. If they made it out onto the street at all. Although temperatures were rising a bit the following 10 days were overcast and it was raining a lot which was quite a change since I'm here. I don't remember a period were the sun was hiding for more than two days. Not to mention raining for more than a few hours. By the end of the month things got much better, even the temperatures let me believe that spring was near by.



So und jetzt noch etwas fuer die Leser aus der alten Heimat (in English see following):
Ich fuehre seit einiger Zeit auch noch einen Blog ueber das taegliche Leben in Amerika. Dieser Blog ist vom Titel her auf travel, also Reisen spezialisiert und da ist im Moment halt bei mir etwas Funkstille. Ich werde hier also erst wieder was zu berichten haben, wenn ich auf Reise bin oder etwas habe das einen solchen Eintrag noetig macht. Damit ihr nichts verpasst koennt ihr ja auf Subscribe klicken, damit bekommt ihr automatisch ein Email sobald sich hier was aendert.

Guckst du also hier: TRUE America(n)

And now a note to my fellow readers in my old homeland:
Since a few month I write another blog about my daily life in America. This blog is like the title about travel and there is not much going on at the moment. Work, you know! I will continue here as soon as I have something to write about, either because I'm on the route or find something that is worth mentioning here. You may use the subscribe button to receive an email notification as soon something changes here and you won't miss a thing.

Check it out here, it's in German though: TRUE America(n)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb