CSBC Youth Trip Mission Arlington Day 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Arlington
June 27th 2011
Published: June 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well let me do some catching up on some stuff that I intentionally left out because it was some of my uh-ohs. I have been posting stuff that other people had done but I got reprimanded by some of my fellow adults and was asked to put these in this blog. Saturday night we took the kids to eat at Ci-Ci's pizza, well on the way were are going down this road and they do not have any warning about a hole or dip in the road and we were traveling down this said road with out any warning and we hit this grand canyon. well it did not bother me or the people on like the first few rows but when the back of the bus hit it, it sent the youth on the back of the bus sailing into the air. You should seen the faces on these kids as they went flying. Its was hilarious. Well the next day my co-pilot was harassing me while driving and I stopped at a red light. Well the turn lane started going and I thought the whole thing was green so we went thru the intersection. Thankfully nothing was coming and we made it through with out any accidents. (I am not a bad driver remember I was being harrassed.)
The events from last night after I posted were this. We started turning the lights down so that the kids would settle down and go to sleep (yeah right). West had eventually had enough and told everyone that on the count of three no more talking. We did not know that Brad was still in the shower when West put out this decree and turned all the lights out. The silence was broken when he came into the room and was walking towards his bunk and got about ten feet off track and stepped in the middle of Fro and sent him spiraling to the floor landing on Fro and Tyler. This erupted in laughter among everyone. Unfortunately we did not have a video camera set up to catch this moment in history. So you will just have to take our word for that it was HILARIOUS!!!! Also we have an unamed source who snores (WESTLEY GARNER), let me just tell you this man he runs an old timey husquavarna chainsaw and he cleared out half of the redwood forest. The papermills should have plenty of trees to produce there products. I have heard less noise from the tv show Swamp Loggers. After Brads episode of falling Holt Saulters would not shut up so Brad politely went over to him with a super soaker and pulled the trigger. This quitened him down for the rest of the night. That was about all the events for the night. We did have one member of our party learn the meaning of time management today. Connie is NOT a morning person, and she moves extremely slow during this time of day. Well were getting close to crunch time to have the kids at Mission Arlington for our mornig worship. I was told to go on and take the kids to this event and they would bring her later. SO WE LEFT HER!!!!. Note to anyone that goes off with this group be up and ready on time.
We made it to the worship service with out any altercations and had a good time. After worship we collected our boxes and directions and went out seperate ways. With a group the size of ours, we were divided into three teams. We all met back up for lunch at mission arlington and once again that was the best ham sandwhich that any of us have ever had. This will probably be a statement that is made everyday. We were talking about all of the happening of our first session of bible school. Scotty's team was riding with us on the bus and when we came back to pick them I stopped in the road to load the kids and all of their stuff. Scotty got on the bus and I asked him if everyone was on the bus he said yes lets go. Well I closed the door and started pulling off when everyone started yelling and someone was beating on the side of the bus. I stopped and Helen, Holt and Hadden were still standing on the road loading stuff. So i guess we almost left them, but once again no one was hurt. Also at this apartment this group had a child crying when it was over and they were packing up not wanting them to leave. This shows us the work we are doing is touching the people we come in contact with. As we were all talking during lunch it was brought to our attention the Connie had been bit by a Chihuahua. She said it was the fastest rat she had ever seen, but Terry Lightsey saved the day with hand sanitizer. At this same complex Brennan stepped in dog droppings. Some of the kids started saying they smelled something and finally realized that apparently he had played in it because it was on both shoes. Terry tried to save the day again with dental floss but he decided to straw them instead. Something about this family and dogs. After lunch we went to the to the one o'clock worship service and the guy talked about this being a spiritual war that we are fighting. He used the example of Moses in Exodus saying that Moses told God that if your spirit dont go with us then dont take us thru that, and what we are doing on this trip is fighting a spiritual battle or war this week. We are trying to spread the word of God to all of the people that we are meeting and talking with during our bible schools. Another thought was that no matter how many doors you knock on, you have people who are excited and love you and the work you are doing or the ones who cuss you out, to always remeber what we are doing is pionting back to Jesus.
We left from there and went on to our next set of apartments to do bible schools. We learned another valuable lesson on this trip there is a big difference between seven tenths of a mile and 7 miles. We are currently setting up a program to teach the co-pilot how to read the GPS. We got all groups delivered and picked up without anyone more "incidents". Just to let you know some of the statistics of these bible schools The three Teams are divided up like this, we have a West team, a Scotty team, and a Brad team. For the morning services West team had 11 in attendence, Scotty had 4, and Brad had 10. West team went back to an apartment complex that we had had service at on Sunday morning we were all a little apprehensive about going back because we did not have a lot of people show any interest in what we doing and did not know if we would have anyone show up. Well God blessed and we had 28 kids come to the bible school. We were all so blessed at this and seeing his hand in it. Scotty's team had 3 show up for the afternoon service, Brad's team had 11 in attendance. I would like to share what Brad told me about this bible school. It was the same 3 kids from yesterday that had really touched them. They showed back up today for the lesson and touched there lives even more. The 2 year old that they met yesterday drank 3 bottles of water. She turned down ice cream to drink water. It is really hard to tell the impact of what this had on this team on here and I am looking forward for you all to hear about it when we get home. I cannot type the feelings and emotions that were shown here today and it will only be able to be seen by ya'll when you talk to Brad and his team when we get back home. Over all we had a BLESSED day. Another bit of information I would like to share is that this week alone at Mission Arlington there are around 700 kids here doing mission work. This is the largest group this year. Man that is awesome!!!! GOD IS GOOD!!! Never doubt the power of GOD!!
Cassie Patterson now has a new nick-name it is Lassie.(this was given by Connie because she cant read). Anyone should go on a trip with Connie you will have plenty to talk about.
The kids are preparing for tomorrows bible schools since we know a little more of what to expect. We have also given them all an opportunity to write down something that was memorable for them.
Todd Broadhead--"All I can say is I can't fit it into words".
Alex Hall--"I love playing with the kids and teaching them about God". Alex has sweated down today playing with these kids.
Leighton Keys--"I can't get over the laughter and joy we bring to the kids".
Andrew Crosby--"I can't get over what the kids thought of me, some looked up to me and some made fun of me".
Austin Banks--"I like how they look up to us so much".
Parker Kendrick--"I LOVE all the smiles and joy we bring to them".
Brennan Wheat--"The difference in the way people treat us at every place we go continues to suprise me".
Domique Clapp--"God really showed up when we thought only a few would come out and we got 28... Amazing".
Winston Wheat--"I feel like I really made an impact on other kids lives today".
Michael Windham--"Seeing the kids run out all excited and what not".
L.T. Clapp--"All of the kids faces".
Faith Anderson--"I enjoyed worshiping with kids, playing, and cant wait to do it again tomorrow".
Allysia Broome--"I've had a good time witht the kids and spending more time with the youth group",
Kelsey Venable--"I enjoy going door to door inviting people to worship the Lord with us".
Blake Lightsey-- I enjoyed spending time with all the kids and teaching about Jesus".
Tyler Keys--"After seeing these kids, I can say that the power of God is the most magnificant force on earth".
Fro--"I loved seeing the kids willingness to come fellowship in the Lord with us".
Cassie Patterson--"People that have done this before really mean you will make a connection with a child, cause I sure did".
Kelli Lightsey--"It made my day and broke my heart at the same time when Isaac (the 4 year old) cry when we left".
Casey Wade--"A little girl drew a giraffe for me".
Patrick Kitchens--"Today is one of those days we will look back on. Through all the door knocking, inviting and sweating. Playing with kids and sweating, and studying the bible.. Oh yeah did i mention Sweating!!! 😊 But I know we all had a good time today and that we lived it for Jesus! but the most memorable part of it all was getting little kids of all kinds, Just a little bit closer to Jesus. Because no matter how old you are, its never to early or late for Jesus!"

I hope these thoughts make all of you as proud of these kids as it has us that are here with them. They are working very hard and being such good sports. This has been on of the most spritual trips I have ever been on.

I would like to ask that you continue to pray for us while we are here. We miss everyone at home but are having a great time and are having such a meaningful trip. We are all grateful for the support that we are and have recieved from all of you back home. WE are very lucky or blessed to have the support system that we have back home.

Dont forget our verse for the week..
‎1 Corinthians 15:10 NKJV
But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb