CSBC Youth Mission Arlington day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Arlington
June 26th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It has been an amazing day here in Arlington Texas. We got up and got going around 7am, everyone got up raring to go..... We had a time of prayer and scripture before starting the day Scotty told us that a certain verse had been on his mind and I think it will be adopted as our verse for this trip. I Corinthians 15:10 NKJV
But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me. None of us would be where we are but by the Grace of God.
We left the church and went to Mission Arlington’s head quarters and got our assignments we thought we would be going to visit other churches, but instead they asked to break into 2 groups and go to 2 apartment complexes knock on doors and tell what we were doing and invite them to bible school next week and we would have a church service by the offices. So we did and had a few people come to the service, but Brother West pointed out that you do not have to have a building to have church. In the devotion that they sent with us was about the B attitudes. A part of this was the parable in Luke about the man who built his house on solid rock and the one who built his on the sand. I saw this scripture in a new light today and was able to apply it to my life. It showed that what we are doing on this trip is following what our heavenly father wants us to do and try to reach the people who do not know him. So that was another reward for me on this trip.
After we got done with these services we went back to the head quarters and had lunch. Man that was a good ham sandwich. By the way the weather here was very warm but had another strong wind blowing so that has made it comfortable. We went back out this afternoon and knocked on more doors in preparation for the weeks upcoming bible schools. Tomorrow we will divide into three teams and work at 6 different places tomorrow. 3 in the morning and 3 in the afternoon. We are all looking forward to working with these kids.
Brad and Scotty's team this morning had three kids come to there service this morning. They were told there parents were not home and after they left to go knock on more doors they came running after them to make sure of the time so they could make it to the service. They sang Jesus loves me with the group and listened to the service and got to color with the group. The group went and bought them cheetos and juice and it really made the kids day.
As far as tonight the kids are talking in there groups and writing in there journals. Some of the adults are walking around talking to the youth. West and I are playing on the internet, well I am working and he is playing... He is so proud I brought my internet card. I have went and took pictures off of different cameras and am posting some of them up tonight.
For supper we had some well prepared spaghetti by the ladies who are with us. We did find out that if you need bread cooked DO NOT leave Helen Patterson in charge. Her ADD kicks in and she leaves it. It was only slightly burnt. You could tell it was bread at some piont in its life, but everyone had plenty.(just joking Helen!!!)

I know that God is truly gonna be bless this group in our work here this week. You can all ready see it happening. In the worship service tonight they told had 136 decisions made last week.. I ask for your contiued prayers for us while we are here that we will not be stumbling blocks and his glory will be seen. We are blessed to be here with a great group of kids and adults.

I think that about covers everything for today. I am looking forward to another great day tomorrow and all the different events that I will be able to tell about tomorrow night. We heard that CSBC had two GREAT services this morning!!! That makes us smile



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb