Why Vietnam?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Spring Hill
February 24th 2011
Published: February 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Many of you are probably wondering why I am headed to such an exotic place as Vietnam. With numerous life-long friends in Scotland, Europe is only a short flight away; South America shares our time zones, and the Middle East is predictably unstable.

A study abroad trip with a professor and fellow classmates is a requisite for graduation and with only three classes left I have chosen to explore Vietnam. The first week will be spent in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) ignoring jet lag, touring businesses, and scrutinizing my Western sensibilities.

When the Belmont group departs I will become a solo scrutinizer; flying to Hanoi, which will serve as my base camp as I explore the mountains of the northwest (Sapa) and a beautiful bay with thousands of limestone cliff islands (Halong Bay). I have been reading about Vietnam for over eight months and I am certain that no amount of studying will prepare me for what I am about to experience.

Brian



Advertisement



27th February 2011

FOOD!!!!
Please give us poor onlookers as much detail as you can on the amazing cuisine of Vietnam.
27th February 2011

Godspeed, safe travels, bon voyage. Sounds like an outstanding trip! Gotta say, I'm a bit envious. I looked on line some more at the region and its a magical place, one you could really get lost in, in a good way. "Look where you're going; remember where you've been." - unknown
28th February 2011

Amazing
This is so amazing. I hope you have the time of your life.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb