Tennessee Trip Day 2 - Jackson TN to Nashville TN


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
October 1st 2014
Published: October 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Cypress Grove ParkCypress Grove ParkCypress Grove Park

Entrance to visitor center at Cypress Grove Park.
September 28, 2014 (Sunday)

(Double click on a picture to enlarge it)



I had originally planned on going to the Casey Jones village in Jackson when I left the hotel this morning however changed my mind after doing some research and driving by it. So, instead I went to the Cypress Grove Park and did a short hike. When I arrived at the park there were two older men sitting at some picnic tables and no one else was there. I went any way and keep looking over my shoulder the whole time to make sure no one was following me. I’ve been reading too many murder mystery book. I did put my emergency contact ID in my pocket so if my body was found they would know who to contact. (I have a great imagination.)



When I left the Park, I headed to Nashville. I checked into a hotel then went to President Andrews Jackson’s homestead to take a tour of it. I also took the wagon ride that takes you further out onto his estate. It was interesting. I left there about 5 then drove to downtown Nashville to check it out.
Cypress Grove ParkCypress Grove ParkCypress Grove Park

Inside the park




Downtown Nashville does not look like I was expecting. For some reason I was expecting more country night clubs with live music instead of tall modern buildings. I also found the State Capital. I was going to try to take a tour of it on Monday morning but after seeing the parking situation decided not to on this trip. Their capital sits up on a tall hill.



I left downtown and headed to the Grand Old Opry. I was surprised the new opry is in the same complex as Opry Mall. While I was looking around I meet a guy and his mom that were from Rockwall. We talked for a while. It is a small world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Cypress Grove ParkCypress Grove Park
Cypress Grove Park

Some of the cypress growing in the park.
Cypress Gove ParkCypress Gove Park
Cypress Gove Park

Cypress growing in the park.
Cypress Grove ParkCypress Grove Park
Cypress Grove Park

Inside the park
Cypress Grove ParkCypress Grove Park
Cypress Grove Park

Inside the park.
Cypress Grove ParkCypress Grove Park
Cypress Grove Park

This bush in the parking lot was covered with butterflies.
President Andrew Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Driver giving us some history on the Jackson's before we started.
President Andrew Jackson's hometead - The HermitagePresident Andrew Jackson's hometead - The Hermitage
President Andrew Jackson's hometead - The Hermitage

Driver giving us information about the area we are seeing.
President Andrew Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Wagon heading down the lane to back side of the estate.
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Wagon heading to the back of the estate.
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Front of the house - We were not allowed to take pictures inside the house on tour.
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Cabin where overseer stayed once the big house was built.
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Cabin the Jackson's lived when they moved to Tennessee before the big house was built.
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The HermitagePresident Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage
President Andrew's Jackson's homestead - The Hermitage

Tree by the big house. This tree looked so unusual. I bet this tree was there when President Jackson lived in the house.
Grand Ole OpryGrand Ole Opry
Grand Ole Opry

This is the new opry not the original one.
Grand Ole OpryGrand Ole Opry
Grand Ole Opry

Heading up to the entrance of the Opry
Grand Ole OpryGrand Ole Opry
Grand Ole Opry

Heading up to the entrance of the Opry
Sign in NashvilleSign in Nashville
Sign in Nashville

I saw this speed limit sign heading to the Grand Ole Opry


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb