Nashville - Save a horse ride a cowboy


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
September 1st 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

How do you describe Nashville in one word? Country! As I arrive (via Greyhound - what else?) and start walking towards the hostel I realize it is just waaaay to hot. Hence I go to the Country Music Hall of Fame where you can learn everything you ever wanted to know about Country music - and more. Getting to the hostel is not as easy as I had hoped though, as it is a good half hour walk from downtown an the bus not so easy to locate. Once more the staff advise to go out in pairs or more at night... Yeehaaa for save neighborhoods. Nevertheless, staff is friendly, people are great, I have a room to myself. Well, almost, just that the beds are standing in the kitchen.

After taking advantage of the free breakfast, a day of downtown Nashville is planned. Only problem: Getting downtown. The quickest way is to take the bus. Yet, waiting for a bus in the states has an overwhelming similarity to waiting for Godot; so I walk and am just as quick as the bus. So much for public transport. After leaving my backpack at the station I head to the City
At tootsie'sAt tootsie'sAt tootsie's

performing on the bar
Museum, which has an extensive exhibition about the state's history from the earlies inhabitants onwards. A couple of hours later I head to the waterfront where a replica of the old Fort has been built, followed by a stroll through the streets lined with Country Music bars and restaurants. Following the crowd I head into a couple of bars and enjoy my last hours in Nashville with a burger, a beer, and live music before heading once more to the bus terminal to catch my ride to Hot Springs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb