A little late for the World Cup and a bit early for the Olympics


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
October 19th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am so happy to be going back to the part of the world that I like best- South America. This time I am not going by myself or with Val or with an organized tour group. I am going with a group of eight from Memphis and 12 from Kalamazoo, MI as part of the Friendship Force ( www.friendshipforce.org). Many years ago, 1986 to be precise, my husband (now ex) and I went as part of a small Friendship Force (FF) group to Hamburg, Germany for two weeks. We had a wonderful visit with Horst and Waltraud Jungclaus. The friendship continues and in 2007, Val and I stayed with them for a week.

A few years after I moved to Memphis I found out there was a FF group here. I joined and have hosted women from Australia, Santa Barbara, CA, and, just recently, a lovely young woman from Russia. The premise is that the US sends fighting forces around the world and make few friends and more enemies so let's try sending ordinary citizens around the world and make some friends. There are over 300 chapters world wide in 65 countries.

This will be my first time in Brazil other than a brief hour in Iguassu Falls in 1995. Our group will stay one week with families in Araraquera which is about a 4 hour drive west of Sao Paulo. It is VERY hot there now with temps around 104. I hope I survive! Then the group will go to Iguassu for a few days followed by 3 days in Rio. In Rio we are staying right on Copacabana beach which should be exciting. Next we fly to Salvador (about a 5 hour drive north of Rio) for another home stay. The program that the Brazilians have planned looks quite full with a lot of parties, eating, and dancing. Working on that surviving thing!

I am hoping to blog but that depends on the availability of the Internet and wifi and the time I have available. If it is not possible to write while I am there then I will keep a journal and write things up when I return home. As long time readers know I look for the unexpected and unusual and I am seldom disappointed.

Those of you who know of my quest to learn Spanish -now 11 years- but who's counting? - will be amused to hear that I have tried a crash course in Portuguese via a terrific (and free) app called 'duolingo'. It is fun but frustrating because it will not let you advance or skip lessons until you show proficiency. That is no fun at all. I assume you can put in most any language that you want to learn. I will attempt the Spanish lessons after I return from Brazil.

As always I enjoy getting your comments on my blogs and hope you enjoy them.

Adeus,

Carolyn

Advertisement



19th October 2014

Looking forward to reports!
(You'll do anything to avoid a election season . . .) Sounds exhausting, but fascinating. Can't Linda give you a hand with the Portuguese? Or has she forgotten it all? I'm sure a nation willing to take on the World Cup and the Olympics will be able to handle your linguistic and wi-fi needs! Just avert your innocent eyes at the Beach, watch your purse, and have fun.
19th October 2014

Hurrah for you!
Have a wonderful adventure! I'll be armchair traveling with you every step. So good to hear from you!
20th October 2014

Friendship Force
Bravo my friend. I was beginning to worry about your because you had not traveled recently. Glad to see you exploring the world again. Eager to hear about your new found language skills and all the other wonderful things that you find! Eager to hear about the people you meet, the history you absorb, the dancing and a parties are a must.
20th October 2014

Sounds great!
Glad to hear you are on the road again. Looking forward to reading all about your trip. We just got back from a trip to the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion. Mild by your standards, but pretty big for us!

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb