There's a reason the hotels are so cheap!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
January 16th 2013
Published: January 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I know you haven't heard from me in a very long time. My last foreign trip was June 2011. I started to get that familiar ache to put on my 'traveling shoes' and knew this would be a solo trip. I leave tomorrow morning for Rome, Italy. It will be my first time there. I know, I know it is hard to believe given some of the backwater villages I have visited that I have never been to London, Paris, or Rome. It was part of a plan, well sort of a plan, to leave those highly touristy sites to my 'old age' when it was getting harder to do those backwater villages. This time I am going solo- no tour group, no Val, just me, some pages torn out of several guide books, some reservations made on Hotels. com, and a Rick Steves 'Italian for Traveler's'book.

I will be in Italy 3 weeks with the first stop a couple of days in Rome to get over jet lag, catch my breath, and do some exploring of the city, and figure out the train system. Next stop is 3 nights in Naples, using the aforementioned train to get there. Then onto Pompei- I can hardly believe I will be staying within walking distance of the famous ruins. I'll do some day trips to little villages nearby or just stay right there gaping in awe of the ruins. Next, I go to Sorrento where I booked a small B& B right on the Bay of Naples. If it stops raining (it looks like it has been raining in those parts of Italy for the last 2 weeks) then I'll take a boat over to Capri and Anacapri. When I've taken in all the sea views I can stand I'll head back to Rome for a week. My B&B sits right across from the Vatican and I plan to do a lot of exploring in the area.

When I was 11 years old I was in the 7th grade at Girl's Latin School in Boston, Massachusetts. That was my first introduction to the history of Italy and the 'dead' language of Latin. It gives me the chills to know I will soon be standing in the places that once were only pictures in a dusty old book.

I invite you all to come along on my journey- enjoy the pasta, the gelato, the traffic, the markets, the sights, sounds, smells, and tastes of Italy.

Some of you may remember my last solo trip to Italy when I went to Venice, Florence. Sienna, and Padua. Most everything went beautifully except for one B&B in Florence run by a, well, highly disorganized loopy lady. I'm hoping these B&B's work out better but if not I will be sure to have a good story!

Oh, and the reason the hotels are so cheap- could be that it rains every day in January.

Carolyn /Gunga

PS- Many of you know that you can make comments and write to me (at the bottom of the blog). I encourage you to do this even if it is just to say "hello". I will be alone for 3 weeks and will need to 'talk' to you.

Advertisement



16th January 2013

Blogging
Hope you will be blogging while in Italy.
16th January 2013

I've quit...
my job and I'm coming with you. I wish. Have a great time and travel safe! We'll keep an eye on the house.
16th January 2013

Bon Voyage!
Have a great trip Carolyn! Hope you can stay dry :)
16th January 2013

Hooray for you!
I'm happy to know you are going to enjoy Italy for 3 weeks Carolyn. For me, the greatest pleasures of traveling alone is making all my own decisions and meeting lots of new people. I'll be watching for your updates...enjoy yourself! Love, Pat
16th January 2013

Bon Voyage!
Vaya con Dios, mi amiga! (I know; it's Spanish. . . ) xo
16th January 2013

Ciao, Carolina!
Love your travel blog. Always interesting to follow your journeys and this one sounds terrific! Have a great time and safe travels. Love, Pat
16th January 2013

Your trip
Bon voyage, Carolyn. Have a great time. I'm looking forward to reading your blog. Toni
16th January 2013

Have a great and wonderful trip in Italy, and keep those travelblogs coming.
17th January 2013

So glad you're back on the road as I've missed your blog. I was wondering if maybe you were sick. I'm going back to Paris in April with a couple of friends, them for a month and me for a couple of weeks. I'm looking forward to all your stories.
18th January 2013

Envy you in ROME!
There you go again...the brave brave "granny-tripper" all by yourself! I'm going to try to forward this blog to Anita...THAT will bring back memories!!! You will have to let us know how "affordable" this 3-weeker is!!!! What airline, etc. Anita retires in June and is already looking to TRAVEL!!!! Love, Bev -who is in California until April 1st.
21st January 2013

Your trip
I love reading your blogs. Hope it doesn't rain every day!
23rd January 2013

Good Luck
Best wishes for sunny weather.
24th January 2013

The history of Italy and the dead language of Latin
There is a joy that comes with planning and executing a trip. I'm a bit late in the reading of your blogs but hope to get caught up today and continue to follow along. You are a special lady and I'm thrilled you continue to get out there and explore the world.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb