Crushed Orange on Rocky Top


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Knoxville
December 19th 2020
Published: December 20th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Where did I go this weekend? Here are a few hints: a smokey dog, an iconic checkerboard, and a unique shade of orange. Still stumped? Before I tell you, let's keep it real for a minute.

I saw a headline through the windows of the journalism building this morning that scared me: “AP News: New Covid-19 Strain Spreads Faster Than Previous Versions.” My heart stopped, wondering if I was unknowingly taking part in a new disaster movie. Much of 2020 has felt that way. But it’s not the disaster movie we all expected; most of us take precautions while others act like nothing is out of the ordinary. We’ve even got a new pair of vaccines being rolled out just in time for the holidays. But that doesn’t mean that everything has gone back to normal, as much as we all want it to be. I’ve tried to err on the side of caution, since that seems the rational thing to do. Pascal’s Wager and all. In that spirit, I present to you my final college football trip of the regular season, which is wrapped up in as much 2020 as I can make it.

For those who haven’t looked at the title of this post, or the location, I ended up going to the University of Tennessee in Knoxville. As a perfect way to round out 2020, this wasn’t my first choice. Sorry, Tennessee fans. Your team hasn’t done anything all year, and I have visited your stadium four times in the past decade. My first choice had been the Georgia game versus Vanderbilt, which was canceled on Monday after already being postponed from December 5. Sadly, that means that I didn’t attend a home game at the University of Georgia for the first time since 2006. My second choice was the Sun Belt Conference Championship Game at Coastal Carolina University, since they’re “America’s Team” according to some in the media, but that game was canceled on Thursday night. I woke up to that information on Friday. I had been considering visiting Tennessee, because ticket prices were reasonable, they were playing the fifth-ranked Texas A&M Aggies, and it’s only a 4-hour drive from my house. Plus, I hadn’t been there since 2017. And there was the possibility of an upset, since Tennessee had just won their first game last week after losing the previous six in a row.

But I’ll be up front: there’s no love lost for Tennessee in my book. They were one of the first teams I learned to hate, after that 1998 national championship got rubbed in my face all summer at camp the next year. And I’ve only ever attended one game (out of nine) where Tennessee won, and it was an absolute gut punch (just ask Tennessee fans about the Georgia game in 2016; I’ve unfriended people on social media for reposting videos of the ending of that game). But I’ve grown softer on Tennessee in the stretches where they’re terrible; those years are pretty regular these days.

Take my conversation with an elder gentleman in the parking lot of my hotel this morning. He asked whether I was going to the game today. When I said yes, he told me that he had just been listening to the radio show in his car. I responded that the talk probably wasn’t very good. His reply: “Well, can’t be good all the time.”

It always surprises me how fickle the fan base is, though, when it comes to game attendance. Even in the year of Covid, Neyland Stadium was permitted to accommodate up to 25 percent capacity, which is over 25,000 fans! This game had one of the sparsest crowds I’ve seen at a game this season, perhaps due to the chilly weather, or the lack of faith in the team, or what have you. But it’s not fear of Covid keeping the fans away, based on what I saw in other parts of Knoxville. “What pandemic?” the whole state of Tennessee seems to ask.

Since I didn’t even think I was going to attend a game this weekend after Covid got in the way of my top two options, I was pretty late leaving on Friday. But once the decision was made, I knew I wanted to get to Knoxville in time to enjoy a good meal and a good night of sleep. The drive was rather uneventful, though it is always a treat to drive through the Great Smoky Mountains as a way of avoiding Atlanta. I will always make that choice in the daytime.

Just over 4 hours later, I was sitting in Calhoun’s restaurant, which bills itself as “The Taste of Tennessee.” It has several locations in eastern Tennessee, but I chose the original on Kingston Pike, which is on the western side of Knoxville. I thought it might be a while before I could be seated, but they directed me to the bar area, and within 5 minutes, I had ordered my food and was enjoying a drink. I got a beef brisket sandwich, and that’s probably the tenderest, juiciest brisket I’ve ever tasted. I couldn’t eat it all, though, so I took it back to the hotel room for later. Then I went to find a Tennessee face mask, which I finally found at Kohl’s.

Breakfast the next morning was at First Watch, which I thought was going to have lots of police officers. Nope. Mostly families, but they did have something I hadn’t seen before: cinnamon chip pancakes! I do love some cinnamon, and this variety of it did not disappoint. Unlike at Keke’s in Orlando, there was only a single pancake, and I definitely wish there had been more. The scrambled egg and turkey sausage did help, though. After that, it was time to get to the stadium.

On Friday night, I had searched for game parking, and it was awful. I could pay $40 on campus, or $20 downtown, or $10 on the other side of town, over a mile away. So I took my chances instead, hoping to find some church or something near the stadium who would allow me to park for $10 or so. But there was nothing like that. In fact, there was nothing at all. A little before 9:00 AM, just over 3 hours before game time, Knoxville was a ghost town. And Knoxville is the third-largest city in Tennessee. Where were all the people?

I drove past the main part of campus and turned right onto Sixteenth Street, hoping to find signs of life. Or signs of parking. After 4 blocks, I found some street parking with no signs, no yellow curb, no decal needed, and took my chance. It looked like student apartments in the area, though it wasn’t exactly a nice part of town (and if I’m totally frank, no part of Knoxville’s downtown area has ever looked like it’s the ‘nice’ part of town to me). The temperature was still below freezing, so I got my warm things on and left my car behind, hoping it would be there when I returned. (Spoiler: it was.)

My second random encounter of the day (after the elder gentleman with his radio) involved a young black man. His race is important for this story, so back off. I was walking toward the Sunsphere, Knoxville’s only landmark outside of the university, when I noticed a beat-up car stopped in an intersection which then moved past me as I walked in the opposite direction. A few seconds later, this young fellow is walking behind me a good ways and is calling to me to get my attention. I turn around once I realize he wants me, and as I do, he puts his hands up, signaling he’s unarmed. I freeze, and he approaches me trying to reassure me that he’s just a normal guy, even though he’s black, and that he’s in need of some assistance. It was a sad commentary on the state of affairs in this country. I let him know that I wasn’t afraid, and he put his arms down. He seemed nervous, going on about having just got out of prison, wanting to get some gas to go to Walgreen’s and get something for Christmas for his daughter, etc. He showed me his ID, and it was obvious he was in some kind of emotional distress. He kept babbling about Jesus and anything I could do to help, so I cut him off: “Do you want money? Is that what you’re asking for?” “Anything you can do to help, I don’t know….” So I took out my wallet—maybe some of you are calling me stupid or a sucker here—and gave him all the cash I had. He was lucky I had any at all, even though it was just $16. I think he thought it was just some ones, since that was visible on the outside, but his eyes lit up when he saw the five and the ten. He said thanks and then walked back to his car. I turned to keep going to my destination. Maybe it turned out well for him. I hope so.

I got to the World’s Fair Park, home of the Sunsphere, a few minutes later. Like the rest of the town, it was deserted. I didn’t really want to go up in the thing, but it makes for a nice landmark to orient yourself while in Knoxville. So I followed the train tracks away from there, over to the north side of the University of Tennessee campus, where I found The Hill, which is apparently the original location of the university. It makes sense, since it truly is above all the land around it. It’s a good vantage point for the Tennessee River, as well as the rest of campus and the downtown Knoxville area. I climbed The Hill, where I found The Circle, a circular road around which I’m assuming is where most of the administration and several of the classroom buildings are located. Then, through a tunnel of stairs, I descended on the southern side of the Hill to find my first up-close views of Neyland Stadium and the Student Union.

The views of campus so far were actually quite pleasant; I could see why people could fall in love with this place. But they call it “Rocky Top,” which is probably
&ab_channel=GavinWilson">the most annoying song to anyone who didn’t grow up as a fan of the Tennessee Volunteers. Every time they do something good on the field, the marching band plays it, so I was glad the band would be absent today. Nevertheless, they still played the song over the loudspeakers, a total of nine times while I was in the stadium.
Apparently this monstrosity is appealing to some peopleApparently this monstrosity is appealing to some peopleApparently this monstrosity is appealing to some people


I went to the campus bookstore to browse, with no expectation of buying anything. How could I? Everything is orange. And not just generic orange; it’s Tennessee orange. According to legend, it derives from a shade of daisies at the top of The Hill. I saw no such flowers, but maybe they just aren’t in season in December. It’s a unique color, which makes it very easy to get wrong for clothing. And you can see all the bad attempts when going to the campus swag store, or by looking around at the fans in attendance at Neyland Stadium on any Saturday in the fall.

I did come across a miniature Christmas tree that was all orange: the base, the ornaments, and even the bristles. I thought it was atrocious. It just looked like someone had gone overboard trying to make it ‘Tennessee,’ if that makes sense. My view was not shared by a young guy who approached it with his dad. While I was staring, trying to hold my distaste at bay and hoping it wasn’t visible on my face, the guy said, “That would be niiiice. I bet Emily would like that.” To each his (or
The flame on the campus of UTThe flame on the campus of UTThe flame on the campus of UT
her) own. As for me and my house, however…

After I took all I could of this room of dreamsicle orange, I wandered over toward the river, where I found a statue with a flame. It was cool, a statue holding a flame in one hand and another smaller statue in the other. Unexpected. Further meandering in this area, I saw that Covid headline that I mentioned at the start of this post. And then it was over to the parking deck next to the stadium, where I found that people were actually … tailgating! Tailgating has been prohibited at all but one school I’ve attended this semester. Same with Tennessee, yet here it was. Imagine that, people in Tennessee acting like the pandemic is a liberal hoax.

Inside Neyland Stadium, I saw that most of the people within my own personal space were masked. More than 10 feet away, however, it was a different story altogether. It made me sad for humanity, and I couldn’t help but wonder how many of these people would become sick by Christmas. I do everything I can to make sure I’m not spreading anything when I go to these games; I
Warming up on a beautiful chilly day in KnoxvilleWarming up on a beautiful chilly day in KnoxvilleWarming up on a beautiful chilly day in Knoxville
even brought TWO masks with me, and I made sure to sit at least two rows away from anyone. But how can you play games with your own children’s lives? That’s who I feel the worst for, in all this. For a parent, it really should be like another Pascal’s Wager of masks. You might not believe the pandemic is real, but should your kids suffer because of your own disbelief? But I digress.

For the football team, it was senior day, something I’m getting used to seeing for the past month of games I’ve attended. My only commentary on today’s senior recognition is that Tennessee actually had one (unlike Wyoming last week), though it only lasted for 5 minutes, right before the game kicked off. Perhaps the most notable person was Jarrett Guarantano, who feels like he’s been the quarterback at Tennessee for at least the past 5 years. His family was there, rocking some faux-fur jackets (at least I hope they were faux, because otherwise they spent WAY too much money on them) with GUARANTANO spelled out across the back shoulders. They certainly acted like they were minor celebrities, too, which is a bit ironic, since their king—I
Guarantano family looks like (undeserved) royaltyGuarantano family looks like (undeserved) royaltyGuarantano family looks like (undeserved) royalty
mean, senior—didn’t start, and hadn’t started since early November because a freshman had replaced him, and then chose to abdicate—I mean, enter the transfer portal—pretty much right after the game so he can play for another team next season.

But what about the game? Perhaps my readers will wonder, if they’ve stayed with me this far, why I’ve given all this information and opinion not related to the football game. Fair question. The short answer is that the game was nothing exciting. Texas A&M, under the leadership of quarterback Kellen Mond, was hoping to make a statement today that they belonged in the College Football Playoff, which will be announced tomorrow. Tennessee, behind freshman quarterback Harrison Bailey, was hoping to play spoiler for those dreams. I was also hoping for that, though not because I like Tennessee or intrinsically hate Texas A&M. And so I was (to the shock of basically anyone who knows me in real life) wearing some Tennessee stuff. But I refuse to wear something with so much of that orange, so my hoodie was black and my hat was gray.

My expectations for the game were, in spite of some speculation that Tennessee would
Bailey with the signalBailey with the signalBailey with the signal
pull the upset, that Tennessee might be able to make it a close game for a quarter, maybe the first half, and then Texas A&M would walk away with it. To my total un-surprise, that’s exactly what happened.

Tennessee got the ball to start the game, and Harrison Bailey led them down the field in less than 3 minutes for a touchdown. That was easy. Then Kellen Mond took Texas A&M down the field for a touchdown in about 6 minutes. No surprise there. Tennessee got the ball back, and they did nothing with it. Then Texas A&M scored another touchdown and a field goal in the second quarter to go up by 10. Since Harrison Bailey hadn’t got any more production in the past two drives, Tennessee put in J.T. Shrout, who opened up his arm cannon and helped get his team into the end zone for the second (and last, spoiler!) time. The kicker missed the PAT, so Texas A&M still had a 4-point advantage. They capped it off with another touchdown to go up by 11 points with less than a minute before the half.

The third quarter was much less interesting. At least the
Kellen Mond looks for an open receiver (and likely finds one)Kellen Mond looks for an open receiver (and likely finds one)Kellen Mond looks for an open receiver (and likely finds one)
Tennessee defense showed up to keep the highly touted Kellen Mond from scoring. Perhaps the only thing memorable that happened in the third was an astounding interception by the Tennessee defense; Mond threw a pass that was picked off at the 1-yard line and returned for 44 yards. That got the home crowd excited. Even I jumped up and cheered for that one. But it was squandered, as the offense got a big penalty on their ensuing drive. The fourth quarter saw Texas A&M get another touchdown to improve their lead to 18 points, at which time I heard one of the ushers conversing with a fan: “Get the score. Onside. Get the score. Onside. Score again. Easy as that.” Yes, that plan is the only way Tennessee could win this game, but apparently we had been watching different Tennessee teams during the previous 50 minutes. Let’s just say I was living in reality, and he was not. We got to see Harrison Bailey again for Tennessee, but after one big play from him, it turned back into the same old, same old. Texas A&M, just to make the point that they could score again, even got another field goal
Texas A&M about to score (spoiler)Texas A&M about to score (spoiler)Texas A&M about to score (spoiler)
with about a minute left in the game. When Tennessee got the ball back, it looked like J.T. Shrout might get one last score on the board for the Vols. But he threw an interception into the end zone with 5 seconds left, and Texas A&M came out and took a knee. FINAL SCORE: TEXAS A&M 34, TENNESSEE 13.

And that’s how the regular season of college football ended for me. Now I wait to see where the fun bowl games are, and whether I want to go (or pay what will probably be exorbitant prices to attend).


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 34


Advertisement

I can only take so much of this orange colorI can only take so much of this orange color
I can only take so much of this orange color
Mond directs his offenseMond directs his offense
Mond directs his offense
Getting ready for the first snap of the gameGetting ready for the first snap of the game
Getting ready for the first snap of the game
The original Calhoun's in KnoxvilleThe original Calhoun's in Knoxville
The original Calhoun's in Knoxville
Bridges over the Tennessee River next to the campus of UTBridges over the Tennessee River next to the campus of UT
Bridges over the Tennessee River next to the campus of UT


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb