On The Road Again


Advertisement
Published: April 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

DB and TazDB and TazDB and Taz

KOA in Hurricane Mills, not too far from Loretta Lynn's Ranch and Coal Miner's Daughter Museum. On one trip through here I need to arrive early, stay at Loretta's RV park 7 miles off the interstate and visit.
Greetings from Hurricane Mills, TN. I’m 425 miles closer to Vegas. Things went smoothly today once I got on the road. Last year when I pulled into this campground with my 97 Miata in tow (on my way to Miata World II in Texas), I discovered one of my axle straps was cut from rubbing.

Everything went smoothly on the drive today. It wasn’t as bad as I expected having to take the detour up I-26 through Johnson City, TN to I-81 since I-40 is still closed near the TN line from the rock slide back in October, 2009. I-40 is scheduled to reopen next week so I’ll probably drive through the gorge on the return journey.

But I did have a ‘fun time’ yesterday as I was making final preparations for departure. When I checked the tire pressure on the motorhome mid-afternoon, I discovered the inside left rear tire was flat! I figured I had a nail in it from a new roof that had been put on recently. I tried to inflate it to head into town, but the seal had broken around the tire bead and it didn’t inflate. Fortunately with dual rear wheels I was
RED and FREDRED and FREDRED and FRED

Here's a view of my row of campsites with RED (on the left) and FRED (my FRont Engine Diesel).
able to drive it slowly and safely to a tire shop in Asheville.

Turned out there was a large screw in the tire, not a roofing nail, and the tire was unsafe to repair. So I now have a new tire.

Despite that minor setback I was able to get on the road before too late today.

No spectacular photos to share, but I did snap a couple of Taz on the trailer behind my RV. I’m parked next to another Tiffin motorhome - a new smaller rear engine diesel called the Allegro RED (for Rear Engine Diesel). I got to see one last year when I was at the Tiffin plant in Red Bay, AL. I hope to see the folks outside in the morning and talk with them.

Friday I plan to get to Ft. Smith, Arkansas area.

Thanks for checking in with Chessy and me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb