June 26th: Nice Weather, A Bad Stretch of Trail, A Bad Fall, and A Hard Decision


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Morning came with the sun. My two shelter companions were up by 5:45AM while I
tried to get a few more winks in. I got up about 6:30 and started working on our
stuff. One of the guys asked if I was going to make breakfast for my wife and me.
I said, “Yes, I always do.” This, in turn, got me a puzzled look. I repeated what I had said
the night before about it was my job and all CC needed to do on this trip was
walk. I take care of the rest. The other guy said I was one of a dieing breed,
of a time past and to be commended. I thanked him. Soon CC and I were the only
ones at the shelter doing our last minute adjustments before heading out. CC had
an okay night and was much better today, ready to continue the trek.
Along with the water problems we had been told of a "Real Bad Stretch of
Trail" along Blacks Cliffs and White Rocks. BIG BOULDERS, STEEP CLIFFS, ALL DAY
TO GO SIX MILES! We heard it all and were ready for the worst. What a let down.
Here we were all ready for a big challenge; it never came. It was nowhere near
as bad as "Dragon's Tooth" or other spots we have traversed already. There were
a couple of nice view points and we did take a photo or two, but the REAL BAD
stuff never did appear.
We stopped at "Little Laurel Shelter" for lunch and water. We had walked 6.8
miles in three hours 45 minutes. The plan was to camel up on water and do about 13
miles total then primitive camp. Coming down off "Camp Creek Bald" the afternoon
thunder started to rumble. We were making really good time and hoped to make camp
before the rain started. We talked of getting 100% of the 30% chance of rain and
maybe today it would miss us.
About two miles from the shelter my foot went in a small hole or hit a stone
just right, I'm just not sure. I do know it happened real fast and when my right
ankle rolled out...it made a real loud crack. I fell to my knees and it hurt
real bad! I sat there for a few seconds as CC prayed. I managed to get up and
move after a minute or two to a log where I sat catching my breath. There was a
tent site very near and CC said that this is where we would make camp, I said no
we would continue in a few minutes after I rested a bit more. My ankles are real
bad. Too many years in the Infantry and the Rangers. The left one was
reconstructed in 1990. Since then I have trashed the job falling many times
before even coming on the AT. We walked about a mile to a gravel road. There is
a hostel on the road and we decided to go there and spend the night resting and
keeping out of the rain.
Walking down here I made a very hard decision. This is it for this year. I cannot take the chance of really messing up one of my ankles out in the middle of
Nowhere and then tell CC to walk out by herself to get me help. I can still
walk, it hurts and there is some swelling but I can walk. We will go to Hot
Springs, TN, the nearest town, and start home in the morning.
By the time Matt posts this we should be home or very close to it. We want to
thank Matt, Tammi, Micki, Joline, Christopher, Steve Yale, "The Manhattan Bear
Slayer" and his lovely wife plus all who helped us to get this far. We would
also like to thank all who took time to read and comment about our journey, we
think of you all as part of our family and the trip. We will continue as soon as
I can get taken care of and feel comfortable with a pack on again. The same
adage applies here to me as I told CC when she had all her problems with boots
and staying warm. There is a very fine line between being hard and being stupid.
To walk myself out of the woods today was being hard. To continue the hike with
ankles in this condition would be just plain stupid. That will most likely be
next year. Not sure if we will do this page again, but we will let everyone know
somehow. Again thanks to all and God Bles you everyone.

P.S. The rain did go around us today! Final stats 64 walking days and 721.8
miles done. If you want to contact us directly via Email:

PATNDEB@pocketmail.com

Text only and no attachments, as the pocketmailer can't handle them. I will also send Matt our last bunch of photos to post once at home.

Thank you again for your prayers,

Patrick, Deborah Mooney aka OD & CC
All Who Wander Are Not Lost


Advertisement



6th July 2007

So Proud of You Both
Just wanted to say what an awesome job you have done...an experience you will never forget....a memory together...we love and appreciate you both and are so proud of what you have accomplished for this life long dream! See you soon! Pray ankles heal......God Bless..... Love Tanya
9th July 2007

Amazing Job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Debbie, I loved seeing you two at the meeting and enjoyed looking through your journal - pictures. I forgot that you could be a little on the crazy side. What an amazing accomplishment for the two of you. Better you than me. Hey, keep the hair cut and I'll be praying for Patrick. Love you, Connie B.

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb