Last Bit about Tennessee


Advertisement
Published: April 24th 2016
Edit Blog Post

After a few days our plan was a quick stop in Nashville then some fun in Memphis. But as life is - S*@T happens! Our last day in Pigeon Forge I felt one of my infamous kidney infections coming on. We looked around online but didn't find any medical facilities that I felt comfortable with - my kidneys and I at the time were not friends. So the decision was made that I just wanted to get home and see my doctor. I did have some heavy duty pain meds with me so that trip was pretty much Narnia. We left the area about 4pm and made it to a hotel in Nashville later that night. I'm fairly certain the boys made another run at White Castle. Up early next morning. We did do a must stop in Memphis - Interstate BBQ! Then home sweet home and to my doc the next morning.

I always learn a lesson with every trip some big and some small. This was a bigger one. Always double / triple check your reservation dates. I had our check out date on the vacation home wrong.
They called us and told us that cleaning crew couldn't clean because we were not out. We did get there quick and pack up. Blessing in disguise because we got a few more hours on the road earlier.



This trip is very doable for just about any budget. In the Smoky Mountain area there is something for everyone. Do not expect to go here & have an adult only vacation - no matter what time of year this is always family time. It is very touristy but at the same time laid back & natural.

Lodging - you have your choice from great camping, to a cabin or vacation home, resorts or the many hotels.

Transportation - once you are in town in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge there is easy public trolley system. Chattanooga you really need a car.

Activities - there is so much to do in the area & surrounding area. We each picked one must do & made sure to do that - and more. You can find great deals online & buy ahead of time. Ripleys & Dollywood have great multi activity passes online. I used the Ripleys aquarium + 7 as the aquarium was unlimited & they had 3 or 4 mini golf options.

I'm attaching a few more pictures. This is really a great part of America!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb