Red Bay=Fun & Friendships


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Are you liking your stay here at Red Bay so far? We hope so. We have been enjoying ourselves. If not, we won’t be here much longer. Have to get up very, very early in the morning to have our RV at Bay Diesel for its new coolant reservoir, new clamps and new hoses if needed. YAWN! So just sleep in your clothes….makes things easier in the morning.Of course, Lulu is way ahead of all of us. She doesn’t wear any clothes…….you know why (no body). She just adjusts her hair ribbon and she’s up and ready to go. Lucky Lulu!

I think I left off talking about our new toppers. If not…just bear with me. Remember the gusty winds that came up and had our new toppers (heavy fabric over our slideouts) billowing up like hot air balloons? We contacted the place we had them done and they had us return. We did notice when we retracted the slides, the toppers became taut on the way in. Anyway, Driver Cory pulled us back into Nichol’s bay. The fellow who put on our toppers was right there. He apologized all over the place cause he said he had failed to have us put our slides in and out after he put the new toppers on. That process makes them go taut! Okay….just glad they were fine. He went around and gave them all another tightening and we were good to go. I used his stairway in his building to take snapshots of our roof. We don’t get to see it cause we can’t climb up there anymore….or prefer not to at our age. Lulu would do it for us but she can’t……you know why (no legs). She’s wants to be so helpful. I could see the different satellite dome we had put on a couple years ago. The guy had to plug the holes that held our old one. We are in a predicament now with this dome…..I already told you about it but I’ll refresh your memory. When the guy put on the new dome, he didn’t give us a choice and put on a white dome. It looked like a big marshmallow guiding our RV along as a beacon. So, last time here at Red Bay, we had Bruce Denton paint it brown. He did a swell job. BUT….come to find out, you aren’t supposed to paint these domes as we have now discovered. We can’t get a signal through it. Rat hills! So, Cory is going to order another brown dome that will work. Next problem is to find someone to go on our roof and attach it. Put the word out, please. Of course, you know Miss Helpful Lulu would do it but, again. You know why she can’t……zero legs.

We have only been able to watch the 10 antenna channels. Most are nothing. I think we have watched 456 episodes of the Andy Griffith show. Twice we saw Lawrence Welk. Not complaining cause I can still use my IPad via our Verizon unlimited data. If we couldn’t chat, I’d have to be strapped down in a straight jacket. I’m good!

Since this last week has been mostly a waiting game, Cory and I have just hung out doing primarily nothing…..it’s a good life! We wandered up town and sat outside one of the Tiffin lounges watching the traffic go by. There is a lot of traffic through Red Bay….like a metropolis. It fun to watch all the RV’s pass through. People coming in for service, others leaving after repairs. Some newly constructed RV’s come along from the factory. They are all solid grey. They are being driven to the Tiffin paint shop in Belmont, Mississippi. All around Red Bay, you see hundreds of Tiffin motor homes in the many various campgrounds. When they start moving to their destinations, it’s like watching huge, box shaped dinosaurs lumbering along. They are just taken for granted in this small community. You have to be here in person to appreciate it…..and we wish you really are. My blog doesn’t give you the right vantage point. Better the nothing……right? Hey, I can hear some of you mumbling. That’s okay….I’m not TOO sensitive.

We wandered across the street from the Tiffin lounge to check out the old brick Hotel Red Bay. It’s an impressive building. It was closed up when we were here before. Now someone has opened it. If we couldn’t stay in our RV, we would definitely get a room here. It was lovely inside the lobby. No one was there…..just a note to call a number if you needed something. Come to find out, the owner is the same lady, Sherry, that runs the Tiffin Lounge across the street. She’s a perfect hospitality person!

Of course, our main activity here in Red Bay has been eating. When there’s nothing else to do: you can always eat. My body is showing the world that I have done nothing, absolutely nothing, for a very long time. I need to be able to fit through our RV door or I’m in big trouble. Fatty Fat!

One day we ventured out and returned to Guys Place on the Water…..Remember going there with us on my birthday? It’s a good drive and this time our GPS took us in and out of all the residential areas of Fulton, MS. Thankfully, we were in the car and not the RV. The roads were all narrow, winding paths. It was lunchtime and as usual, we were hungry. So we stopped. It was cool outside so we ate inside. Drool was coming out of mouth cause I knew what I was going to order: their shrimp & cheesy grits! I’ve found a new liking and carving for grits. I love them. Had never eaten them before but now, can’t get enough of them. Piggly Sandra! Whaaaaaat!?!? No shrimp & grits until after 4:00 pm. Nooooooooooooo. Oh suck it up, Sandy. It’s life….live it. BooHoo but okay. I ordered their shrimp po’boy. It was good but I secretly dripped tears onto this mega sandwich. Fussface….I know. We passed the Fulton Lock and Dam. I had Cory stop so I could snap a photo. They have a wonderful walkway all along this area. Luckeeeee. From here, we went to a Walmart. Of course, you already know that’s my favorite store so I recovered quickly.

We had to return a Redbox movie in Belmont, Mississippi. The machine in Red Bay broke down…probably from us using it so much. While there, I noticed their big storm shelter was open so took advantage and wandered in. It was wet on the floor….must be it leaked….that’s why the doors were open. It was kind of creepy in this one. Reminded me of the pictures of the showers from the Holocaust. Crossing the street, a big flatbed truck passed me. It was hauling a truck load of burial vaults! Creepy, too.

Another culinary outing took us to Rita’s…..several miles outside of Belmont, MS. A simple building but new to us so we were excited. Whoa….what’s this I can order? Something new. Hmmmmm. I decided on their quail dinner. I’m always game to try anything once. Cory stuck with his faithful chopped steak. Their salad bar came as one side….nice. We both ordered their homemade potato rounds. Yikes……so many of them. They were good but we had to leave behind a mound of them. Well, let’s discuss my quail. I knew it would be on the small side…..I was correct about that. It was heavily fried so to find the tiny amount of dark meat took some digging. I put the wing next to the shaker for size ……the drumstick was 2 millimeters larger. But, now I can say I’ve had quail. How many of you can say the same? Ah, yes…..quite a few of you.

Friday evening we went to a concert in the park on Main Street, Red Bay. Bring your own chair….Okey Dokey. For over an hour, we sat and listened and enjoyed gospel music sung by four young men. Hallelujah. I didn’t know one song they sang…..coming from on old Baptist background, I thought, surely, I would be singing along….nope. Nary a word! I was mute! But they were very good and kept the crowd well entertained with their beautiful voices and enthusiastic manner. Then they rolled up the sidewalks and we went home.

Because all these Tiffin owners have something in common, it’s easy to strike up a conversation and make friends. We met a lovely couple next door to us: Sam & Betsy. We have enjoyed their company very much. They are such thoughtful and generous people. We all went out together for dinner. This time, we went to the Yacht Club restaurant on the grounds of the campground Red Bay Acres. We had a nice meal but the company was even better. We were entertained by a country singer with a perfect voice.

Another nice couple stopped by for a visit. They are a few RV’s down from us. They are Ginny and Don. They are full-timers, also. Don is 88 years old and drives a 45’ Tiffin with a huge trailer behind. This makes them as long as a semi truck. Wow! Amazing! He drives this on the HOV lane through Atlanta…..yikes!

Yesterday, we met more folks…..soon to become good friends. They are in another campground just a gully away. We can see the back end of their RV. First, Millie and JB stopped for a sit down chat. A wonderful couple! I was trying out my new, birthday chair. Yup, Sweet Cory actually bought me another chair…..for my birthday. I love him and this new, relaxing, reclining chair. This great couple is from Billerica, Massachusetts…..not too far from Chelmsford, Massachusetts, where I grew up. Millie’s brother lives in Chelmsford. Cool! Such a small world. She mentioned that another couple had stopped them and suggested going to the Rattlesnake Saloon……and did we want to go? Sure! Count us in. This other couple is Connie & Toby. They are from Texas. A really nice couple. Connie is a funtime person and we were happy she made the suggestion for this adventure. So all of us plus Sam & Betsy took the winding, long, long road to the Rattlesnake Saloon in Tuscumbia, Alabama. On previous visits to Red Bay, Cory, Lulu & I have gone to this unique place and loved it. When you arrive, you have to wait for the pickup truck taxi to take you down to this special dining spot. They stamp your hand if you are going to have an alcoholic drink. I was marked with a big red X cause I wasn’t drinking. I stood out in the crowd. Of course, Lulu got no mark….you know why (no hands)…. Yes, she joined us. Needless to say, Lulu wasn’t going to be left behind for this excursion. She’s always out for a fun time. We waited a long time for this rugged taxi. It’s a popular place way out in the hills and sticks. Finally, we boarded this tricky taxi and held on for dear life. The dirt path the driver takes is straight downhill! Whoa there, Nellie. We debarked at the base of this steep hill facing a behemoth of a cliff……under which are tables for its many customers. Dining in a cave! Lulu took her place in the center of the table so all eyes would be upon her…..she is so vain at times. Toby let her wear his hat and she put on my sunglasses for that movie Star look. Geeze. We lucked out…..a band was playing terrific country tunes. Yeehaw! We ordered from the brief menu. I got the Wedge salad. It was superb! I loved it and am going to make it from now on. We had a great time and as always, the company is what makes it even greater. Cory gave his usual toast: “There are good ships and wood ships but the best ships are friendships!” It got dark so we headed out from the cave……hopefully bats didn’t make their home there along with the rattlesnakes. We packed back into the pickup truck taxi to be jostled around as we sailed back up this vertical hill. Hold on! It was such a festive time with all our new friends. But, it doesn’t stop here.

Sunday, we all went together for pizza in Belmont, Mississippi. Remember Sunday is pizza night for Cory and me…..and Melba when we were in Florida. The place is called Hometown Pizza and makes a scrumptious pie! More new friends from Texas, Penny & Eric, joined our group. The more the merrier. The big question of the night was “Where’s Lulu?” She’s made such a fine impression on all of them…..you knew she would. I told them that she doesn’t like pizza so stayed back. How could she not like pizza? She’s so finicky. All the more for us. Once back at our campground, we sat by a campfire pit at our site. Sam & Betsy brought their gas fired pit over. Yay! It was really nice…..super atmosphere for a clear and pleasant evening. The perfect place and time to exchange RV campfire tales. And what tales we all had! All part of RV living. Through our blog, you have lived out our various experiences so you could relate as we rehashed those challenging moments…..which sometimes led into days, weeks and months!

Changing subjects now…new paragraph.

We have had much to celebrate this month. Two more of our granddaughters have graduated from college. Rah, Rah, Rah! That makes all three of our granddaughter’s graduating from various colleges with various degrees in one year. Wow! Of course we are proud as punch of each one of them. In another blog, we have introduced you to our oldest granddaughter, Rachael, who received her Doctorate from the University of Alabama. This weekend, our second granddaughter, Haley Faber, received her Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Miami in Ohio. Yahoo! What a beautiful young woman she is. And, last but not least, our youngest granddaughter, Sara Knapp graduated from SUNY at Alfred with her Associates Degree. We were able to watch her graduate virtually. Such a pretty young woman as she strolled across the stage. We are so blessed to have such talented and beautiful granddaughters. Congratulations to each one of them for a job well done in their academic accomplishments. We love each one of them with bursting hearts.

Changing days now…..new paragraph.

Yesterday (Monday), we got up bright and early and took our RV back to Bay Diesel for its final workload. Since we were up so early (7:00 AM)……we had a plan. Cory drove our car to the Ol’County Store in Belmont, MS. I had requested to eat a new dish….for me, anyway: biscuits and chocolate gravy. I rarely even eat breakfast cause my stomach hasn’t woken up yet….I’m not at all hungry and the thought of food makes me feel a bit uneasy. But….this was my only chance. We sauntered on into this gas station, grocery, car parts, etc., store to the back where a couple ladies were cooking up a storm. We sat at the long table with the locals. They knew we were from out of town but greeted us with true southern hospitality. Of course, I ordered my biscuit and chocolate gravy. “Want butter on it” I was asked….I don’t know….fix it the way you would eat it. The yellow blobs in my photo of this unique breakfast is the butter! Cory got a normal, typical breakfast. I should have but I was determined to try something new. Slowly, I brought a morsel of this culinary mixture up and into my mouth. WOW! It was rich and sweet! I couldn’t really taste the biscuit…..just like eating extra sweet, thick, gooey chocolate sauce with butter blobs all over of it. Ewwww. I love chocolate but remember my stomach in this early morn. All eyes were upon me for my response because I had announced to the group why and what I was doing. I put on my Sheldon (Big Bang Theory) koala bear smile and made a yum-yum sound. All forced and fake! I felt like I was going to puke…..it was way too much. But, being the strong and pleasant person I am, I kept picking at it and swallowing lots and lots of times with many breaks in between. Now the sheriff of the county came in and sat across from us. He was a far cry from Sheriff Buford T.Justice. A handsome, young man with a deep southern drawl and bright, shiny white teeth. He, along with all the other locals, LOVE biscuits & chocolate gravy. I didn’t want to break their hearts so I nodded right along with them…..all while praying I didn’t hurl this brown mess up. I was glad to leave and get some fresh air.

We went back to the Tiffin store cause Cory remembered something else he wanted to get. We found our new friends, Millie & JB. We drove downtown Red Bay and met them at the Tiffin lounge there. We chatted for hours. Millie had only eaten pop tart so she was hungry. Of course, I was still tasting the chocolate slop of earlier. We both had to retrieve our RV’s from their respective repair shops. We went back to Bay Diesel and picked it up. They did everything Cory wanted plus some. We had a crack in the air sock (???) that they replaced….good! They put in the new coolant reservoir….called a surge tank….that was the biggy on our list.

We met our friends back at the campground. JB drove us to Sparks restaurant in Belmont…..we ate here before, remember? JB has hauled Cory and I around to every place we have gone together. Our backseat of our car is loaded so we can’t take another couple. JB has his own limousine service so we feel like very special people when he is driving. They are a delightful couple. We feel like we have always known them and it’s only been a few days. Unfortunately, my uneasy feeling had passed so I was able to devour Spark’s buffet! Fool that I am. Back at the old campground, we all gathered around Sam & Betsy’s fire pit at their site. Once again, another couple joined us: Patty & Jack. It is great being able to meet so many nice people…..and we all have something in common: our RV’s and we are all at Red Bay. Whoopi! At the end of another delightful evening, we bid our farewells to our new friends. We were finally heading home (polebarn) in the morning. We shall stay in touch with our new comrades in the future. Lulu watched from our front window with tears in her eyes. She is going to miss them all.

Now it’s today….Tuesday. It’s raining….poop! But not hard so Cory is able to disconnect us from our utilities. The rain stopped when
Ginny & Don & Sam Ginny & Don & Sam Ginny & Don & Sam

Sam, me, Lulu, Cory, Ginny
he had to hook up our car…good! So at 9:30 CST, we bid adieu to Red Bay, Alabama. As I write, we are currently going around Nashville, Tennessee. Weather has been good AND so has our RV. Hallelujah! Keep it up, ol’ girl. We are heading to Rt.40 North. Not sure when or where our stopping off point will be for the night. You can let us know when you are too tired to go on. We are just so glad to have you along for the ride. Sit tight cause we have many more miles to go on this journey. Check out the 27 photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

At the dining caveAt the dining cave
At the dining cave

Cory, Sam, Betsy, me, Millie, JB, Toby, Connie, Lulu


19th May 2021

Friends
Safe travels!!! Granddaughters are gorgeous!! The adventures continue!!
20th May 2021

Red Bay=Fun & Friendships
We love reading your blogs with all your adventures. Feel like we are right with you. You guys have too much fun! You are enjoying life to its fullest!! Many Blessings as you continue on your journeys! Love you both!!
20th May 2021

Thank you, Sandy
We are so glad you are still with us. We miss you both. Have a wonderful summer and stay in touch. ❤️

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb