Chattanooga to Cherokee National Forest


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sunday May 22 Chattanooga to Cherokee National Forest
Today drove from Chattanooga to the Appalachian Mountains and camped at the North River Campground off the Cherohala Scenic Skyway. It was a pretty hilly and continuously winding road here and I seriously started to wonder if the drive was worth all the wear and tear on my truck. When I went off on the turnoff for the North River campground the road got much narrower and even more winding with lots of motorcycles out cruising. I passed a beautiful waterfall but the parking lot was full and so decided I would check it out on the way back tomorrow. As I kept going and going deeper and deeper into the woods and valleys I really started to wonder if I was even on the right road. The road got smaller and then turned to a narrow gravel road and I kept on going since it's always easier to keep going forward than to turn back. One thing a sojourner needs to have is a high tolerance for uncertainty............and good tires !
Finally I found the campground North River Campgroung next to a stream and picked out a site and settled in. Cost
$8.00 for the night.
The AOL weather had said it would be 88 degrees here and they were right. It was very hot as I set up camp. They had said there might be thunderstorms also and they were right about that as well. Finally a good rain came and cooled things down.
So now the rain has stopped and so I am settling in for the evening. Guess I'll fix my tea and think things over. Tomorrow I will check out the waterfall and then drive up to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, Tennessee via the Foothills Parkway.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Bear proof trash containersBear proof trash containers
Bear proof trash containers

You are required to put your trash in these bear proof trash containers before night. Also all food or anything that may attract bears must be locked up in your vehicle or RV. Although I doubt that my camper top is bear proof.


Tot: 0.566s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 18; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb