June 22nd Continued: Good food and rest


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Zero Day Events, Good Food and Rest.

Got up early and CC stayed in bed to rest. Went out to breakfast with the
other hikers and Johnny. He makes three runs a day to town - breakfast, lunch and
supper. He will run you by the post office, the store or where ever else you might
need to go. Erwin, TN is quite spread out and his hostel is on one far end. We
stayed at the Waffle House until 9AM when the Post Office opened, then he drove
by there on the way home. Our box was there waiting all in tact. Got back to the
hostel and got in trouble for not bringing CC a sweet roll. Laundry was done then
it was lunch time.
A group of 13 men from "Kingsway Church" in Indianapolis had come in from
their section hike about 10AM. They had all cleaned up and asked if we wanted to
go with them in their bus for lunch. We agreed and figured we could get our few
needed groceries at the same time. They drove to a Spanish restaurant where CC
and I shared a taco salad. We got seated and served first, so once done we
headed to the store. It was located in the same plaza so we only had to walk a
short way (short for normal people 150'). We managed to get everything and
arrived back at the bus just as the men came out from eating. I love it when a
plan comes together.
Back at the hostel we went over everything repackaging stuff and
Consolidating things. It took some time to get sorted out who would carry
what. Time for a little relaxation after the packs were squared away. Soon it was
supper time.
Johnny drove us to a country BBQ place. Food was good, service poor! Our meal
was a bit cool after the waitress left it on the counter for almost 10 minutes.
After supper we stopped at the store for some ice cream for desert. What a great
way to end the day. I didn't finish my journaling until almost 10PM, after which
I went to the tent and bed. We stayed in our tent instead of one of the
buildings to save money. That and the weather was beautiful, so why be inside?

Patrick, Deborah Mooney aka OD & CC
All Who Wander Are Not Lost


Advertisement



29th June 2007

Out Early
Just a quick hi. I woke up about 4:30 Friday morning and couldn't get back to sleep. I quietly packed my tent and headed for Raleigh. Funny think, all those good eats and cold drinks I was fantasizing about out on the trail pale to the attraction to get back out there. I've got jury duty July 2nd, but as soon as I can I plan to hike the section between Damascus and I-81. Glad to have met you guys and I'll be watching web page. Bruce

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb