Chattanooga day 2


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Lookout MountainLookout MountainLookout Mountain

The Confederates at Lookout Mountain had a full view in all directions.
May 21 - Saturday - Chattanooga Day 2 Morning - Saturday in Chattanooga. Just paid for another day here at the Knights Inn and will go to see the Chicamagua and Chattanooga battlefields and Lookout Mountain today. It is going to be 90 today here so guess I had better get moving and do that before the heat of the day.

Evening -Good day today. Explored the battle of Chickamauga site, and the battle of Chattanooga sites. I especially enjoyed Lookout Mountain. I drove up instead of taking the incline railway at $14. There was metered parking at Point Park where the civil war site is at. I used my National Parks Pass to get in. There was a fairly good program on the battle next door for $8.00 (Senior rate $7.00)
Afterwards I tried to tour Missionary Ridge but it is taken over by property owners and although you can see markers for the battle it is impossible to stop or pull over anywhere on the narrow road to read them and all you can see is property owners houses anyway the view being totally denied to you. Also a property owners car is usually on your bumper.


I finally at a place called the Bragg Reservation which had the usual cannon pointed at some trees with it impossible to see anything but the trees.
It was another very hot day with the cicadas swarming again. I was told that they do this for a couple of weeks every 13 years. Guess I was just lucky to get here while they were doing it !?? Chickamauga battlefield was interesting but the cicadas were running amuck again and I had to pull another one off the back of my neck again............not a good feeling!
After touring the sites I stopped at the Golden Corral Buffet and Pigged out. I wont have any trouble sleeping tonight.


Tomorrow I head North and then East to the Appalachian Mountains to drive the various scenic routes. Hot day here in Chattanooga. I will head to the Appalachian Mountains where hopefully it will be cooler. For those who have a map I'm planning on driving north out of Chattanooga to Cleveland then East on 40 to Hwy 68. Then up 68 to the Cherohala Scenic Skyway and West to East over the Appalachian Mountains, then back East to West over
Entrance to Point ParkEntrance to Point ParkEntrance to Point Park

The entrance way to Point Park is the largest display of the Corps Of Engineers symbol anywhere.
the Appalachians on Hwy 129. Then the Foothills Parkway North alongside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg , then across the Great Smoky mountains on Hwy 441 and the Blue Ridge Parkway to Ashville , North Carolina and then down 64 to visit relatives in Charlotte.
Hope my truck hold up to all that mountain driving.
I'm pretty much shunning the freeways and large cities, and taking the scenic route.
Time is not a matter of any importance.
will be cool in the mountains.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Texas marker at ChicamaguaTexas marker at Chicamagua
Texas marker at Chicamagua

The Texans attacked from these woods


Tot: 0.604s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 80; dbt: 0.2781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb