We'll Be Home for Christmas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Chattanooga
December 25th 2009
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SnowSnowSnow

On our roof in Kunsan, night before we left for states
The day before our big trip, and it’s snowing in Kunsan, I take my guys out for dinner, Gamjeatong, potato soup. After dinner we get home and pack, we decide to stay up since we have a taxi coming to pick us up at 2:30am to take us to the bus terminal for our 3:00am bus ride to the airport. As we are waiting for the elevator I jokingly say “Let’s not leave any luggage”, last year we (actually it was me) left a bag in front of the airport and did not notice until we were in the check-in line. As the elevator doors close that’s when I realize that I don’t have my wallet….doohh!
We arrive at the airport and check in and go through security and customs, once through we go to the Korean Air Lounge and wait for our flight and get some breakfast. We find a couple of chairs and set our things down, as I look up I recognize the gentleman sitting across from us as none other than the great Anthony Bourdain, host of the TV show “No Reservations” and renowned author as well. I say “hello”, he says “hi”, I proceed to tell him how I really enjoy his show, and he says “thank you”, he goes back to working on his computer, no doubt on another great adventure. Now I have my camera in my backpack, but I did not want to act like the groupie and ask for a picture with him while we are in the business class lounge, maybe just an autograph, no….but when he left we exchanged the “have a good trip” routine, I look over at his chair and what do I see? The pen he was using.
After about 13 hours we arrive in Atlanta, and it is pouring down rain, we just make or shuttle ride to Chattanooga. It rained the whole way up, we arrive before mom and dad do but not by much, we go eat and home to rest.
After a couple of days of rest we went to The Unclaimed Baggage Store in Scottsboro Alabama, and went to a couple of antique shops.
For Christmas Pearl and I dressed in our traditional Korean clothes we wore at our wedding ceremony.
One Sunday Pearl and I met up with a friend of mine I use to work with while I lived in
HomeHomeHome

Mom and Bitsy
Chattanooga.
After Christmas we all, Mom, Dad, Bitsy their dog, Pearl, and I took a drive to see the Mayfield Dairy plant, which was interesting, and we got free ice cream, after ice cream we went for lunch, after lunch we had to go home, since Bitsy let us know that she did not like waiting in the car by herself.
Later in the week Pearl and I went hiking along the Cumberland Trail, it was a nice day, mild and sunny.
Our last week in the country Pearl and I went to Charlotte North Carolina to visit my grandma and cousin. While we were there we went to a minor league hockey game, my cousin won $75 for throwing a foam puck through a hole in the roof of a car as it drove around the ice between periods. One night we took my grandma to a German restaurant for dinner.
Sorry for the long delay in getting this blog out, over two months. As of now my next trip will be in May, I will go to Hawaii for a NICET test.
Hold ‘em in the road.
For Casey…Go Red Wings



Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

TripTrip
Trip

On the way to Unclaimed Baggage Store
Christmas EveChristmas Eve
Christmas Eve

Singing christmas songs
Mayfield DairyMayfield Dairy
Mayfield Dairy

Before our tour
Mayfield DairyMayfield Dairy
Mayfield Dairy

After the tour
Mayfield DairyMayfield Dairy
Mayfield Dairy

Pearl grabing a big teet
Round HouseRound House
Round House

On the way up Signal Mountain


17th March 2010

Our Little Gypsies"
WOW!! Looks like you both had a fun-filled vacation in the states. What's even better, you took some memorable photos. Take some pictures on your trip in May. GOOD LUCK on your test for NICET...

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb