Steers, Beers, and Pierre


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Pierre
October 3rd 2012
Published: October 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

My dad and I have just returned to our room at the Pierre Ramkota Hotel after splitting a 24-ounce porterhouse at the Cattleman’s Club. I’d never eaten a porterhouse. I hope to eat many in the future. Fred got the prime rib – The Cattleman’s Club only offers beef and a shrimp – and, like my dad, washed his cut down with a beer. I ordered a strawberry daiquiri.

When we arrived at 5:45 beefeaters had filled every chair at the Cattleman’s Club. Fully filled. These were big men (and they were mostly men) red faced and serious – the kind who sweat when they eat. In short, they were the kind who appreciate prime beef.

The beefeaters didn’t seem to notice the river, or what is confusingly called “Lake Sharpe” outside the window. I had always imagined South Dakota to be like some sort of giant parking lot, all covered in grass with some cows sprinkled over it. But the hills here rise up quickly and roll off into the distance. The river meanders around sand bars. South Dakota is much more pleasant than I expected. After that porterhouse, however, I can understand why those beefeaters showed no
Lake Sharpe?Lake Sharpe?Lake Sharpe?

I don't know why it's not called the Missouri River.
interest as the sun slowly set in the hills behind the river.

The athletes rode only 36 miles today. Fred and my dad earned the time off by heroically biking 90 yesterday. The wind had been in their favor then, and they rode it for all they could.

“Why don’t we just do 100?” Fred asked when they clicked off 90.

It was a good question, one that their bodies later answered for them. Fred’s back has been giving him fits while my dad’s problems involve his seat. All of these, however, can be remedied by the wind.

That wind will be blowing from the northeast at 32 miles per hour tomorrow. The riders are heading southeast, so it will cut right across them. Such crosswinds are dangerous and it’s unclear how close to Chamberlain they will be able to ride. After that, however, the wind will blow from the northwest, pushing the riders down the Lewis and Clark trail toward their goal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



3rd October 2012

Reoccurring Themes
Beer and beef seem to be the common denominator throughout the blog. I like it, and I'm gonna buy a bike!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb