Hails of bay!


Advertisement
Published: August 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

While driving thru 8 states there have been several shapes and sizes of "clumped" grass. Jess and I have discovered that we both have an issue with the phrase "bales of hay".
Today saw us rising bleary eyed and before the sun in Bismarck, ND. After my freshly made waffle, we set out to see Salem Sue, the worlds largest heifer statue. Not only did we get a photo opp with Sue, we also got a panoramic view of New Salem, ND with sunflower fields, windmills, and rolling hills. The 2nd stop of the today was the Enchanted Highway in Regent, ND. The highway stretched 32 miles with 6 different scrap metal statues ranging from geese (currently worlds largest scrap metal statue) to grasshoppers. The favorite has to be fishermans dream. Everyone, get your fist pump ready.... During the Enchanted Highway we found what Jess has been waiting for this entire trip, the elusive sunflower field. I did a quick U-turn and everyone had a moment.... The next stop is what started this entire road trip. Jess & I started what some would call a "bucket list" in the fall of 2003 while attending Belmont Univ. One of the "to do's" on the list is Mt. Rushmore. 13 years later we can officially mark Mt. Rushmore off!! I didn't know what to expect, but I was not disappointed. Rounding the corner before entering the National Park there is a nice view of the carvings. Once you enter and walk up to the observatory, you have to take a moment and digest what you are viewing. Only some will understand, but she was with me. After reluctantly leaving, the Road Avenger was headed south west to Flintstones Bedrock City. We said a quick hello to Fred & the gang and even road a train!! You know I had to do a photo opp in a foot powered car. Next was a quick drive by of Crazy Horse. Maybe I will do an official stop once its finished. Driving down I-90 you can't help but see billboards from Wall Drug with a variety of advertisements. And of course we stopped!!! Interesting place of a lot of....I do t know what? I did procure some peanut butter fudge. The 6th or 7th stop (I've lost count) was just to get gas but we lucked upon an 1880s town. Not much to see, but it did have a train diner and items from the Dancing with the Wolves motion picture. 'Scuse me! We rose with the sun and are ending the day 5 or so after sun set. Long but eventful and meaningful day! Night from Sioux Falls, SD.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb