Crazy Horse Memorial Mt. South Dakota


Advertisement
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When we were in the Aro resturant in Sundance, Wyoming we were talking to a couple of guys from Kansas City lol I loved their accents, ya'll lol ok back to it hehe They talked about Crazy Horse which was not far from Mount Rushmore, we decided that we were going to check that out! We spent quite some time there, the greeter chatted with us, sent us to the information booth to get our money back, we paid $20 to get through the gates, to us it was worth it. He said that all Indian peoples and veterans get in free. The place was sooooo awesssoooommmmme!!!!!!!!!!! lol We sat through an orientation, then we went through the museum, they have flags from a lot of Indian reservations, and I guess there is one from Ft. St. James, my hometown but I couldn't find it. When I was in the Education and Cultural area, I was talking to a Navajo lady who said " oh, we just took a picture of the Ft St James flag, and it was hanged but I couldn't find it. So any First Nation person get in touch with someone at Crazy Horse Mt, and request that they hang your flag. It was so awesome awesome awesome lol I use that word a lot There is an address on one of the films if not I will post at a later date. Nat needs to check her emails 😊 Loves youse all and see ya soon 😊 The Crazy Horse Mt does not show up on the thingy up there but it was close to Yellowstone National Forest.

The family is dedicated to finishing the mountain. After his death, his wife took on the task with her children's help. they had 5 girls and 5 boys.


The part I didn't enjoy was that we missed the night blasting by one night!!! If we had not stayed in Seattle 😊 but we were happy seeing all the sites at the monument 😊

A part that I did enjoy was when he spoke up his equipment dying as he was heading up the mt, he'd have to put everything down and starting all the way back down. Check it out on Utube. What we saw at the orientation is exactly the same as the Utube videos. Its one of two.

http://crazyhorsememorial.org/webcam/


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



9th September 2009

what can I say
fantastic (awesome) lol

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb