Sioux Falls to Gillette WY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Badlands
September 6th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another day, another 500-600 miles. I got an early start out of Sioux Falls because I knew I had at least a five hour drive ahead of me. On interstate 90, I passed five HUGE fields of sunflowers, just starting to follow the sun. My original plan was to go straight to Mt. Rushmore, thank goodness I changed my mind. I decided to drive through Badlands National Park. It was amazing!!!! The formations in the park were unbelievable. I would love to ride a bike through the park. If I were not heading to Mt. Rushmore, I would have done so. I had my first animal sighting in the park. They had several huge prairie dog towns. I also saw several pronghorn antelopes and some sort of big sheep as I left the park
Made a quick stop in Wall SD, on the way to Mt. Rushmore. Had to visit the world famous Wall Drug Store. It was then on to Mt. Rushmore. It is an impressive monument. I then took 16 across from SD into Gillette WY. Not sure what tomorrow has in store yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb