Blowing off the Cob Webs


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Lake Murray, SCLake Murray, SCLake Murray, SC

The VStrom enjoying the view.
It has been a while since I have had a chance to roam around on my motorcycle. A quick check of my records shows that the last time I actually filled up the gas tank was almost six months ago. It is amazing how life gets in the way of fun. Since my last trip my live in mother in law broke her hip, I have had a change in my work assignment and my grandson has been in the hospital for 40 days. Hopefully we are getting close to being able to bring him home soon.

This morning I left out to meet two other riders up at Lake Murray (South Carolina) to do a little riding and grab some BBQ. When I left the house the skies were dark and there was a lite mist of rain that kept me wiping off the face shield of my HJC helmet.

My first stop was in Hopkins, SC to get some much needed gasoline. I could not believe that overnight gas had increased from $3.34 to $3.40 a gallon. $17.00 later I was on my way. By the time I reached the lake the rain had stopped and the
Hudson's BBQHudson's BBQHudson's BBQ

Hwy. 378, Lexington, SC
sky had cleared some. I waited for almost an hour, but the other two riders never showed. Looks like I am on my own.

I crossed the damn on Highway 6 and headed for the Lexington County side of the lake. I road along Highway 378 up to Saluda, SC, made the traffic circle and headed back to Lexington, SC for some BBQ. When I made it to Hudson’s BBQ it was almost 1 p.m.

I found a seat at the bar, ordered a BBQ sandwich, fries and coleslaw. I have to say that of all the BBQ I have eaten in the past few years Hudson’s made the top of the list. It did not hurt that the waitress was very cute and flirty! After a little flirting and a good meal I got back on the bike and headed towards I-26 to Bluff Rd. so I could take the back roads home.

On the way home I found some old dirt roads that local farms use for farming. I took an old rutted dirt road into a large corn field and had a blast. When I got home I had to hose the mud off my tires.

Even though the ride was not long and my companions bailed on me I still had a great time!

Total miles ridden = 128


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Corn FieldCorn Field
Corn Field

Lower Richland County, SC


19th August 2012

Alec's Blog
Hello Alec! Nice to read your blog again, and to see what is going on down there in the mid-state! I had asked Andy if he had seen or heard from you at our last RTE over in GA. Great to hear from you and I hope the faintin' goats are doing their thing again!! :) Looks like your day of BBQ was good. That's a good lookin' plate of food, and the slaw looks great, too! Maybe we can meet up on the road one of these days at a BBQ place, maybe Farm Boys. Not too far from you or Andy! I like to RTE, too, and besides I owe Andy a lunch! Sorry to hear of the young ones' illness, but hope and pray all is now going well with him! Larry in Travelers Rest
19th August 2012

Breathing
Hi Alex, I thought you had robbed a bank and gone into hiding. Nope nothing so easy for you, no, you just stayed in the area and put up with what life handed you. Glad to hear that you might be seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and will be returning to a little less dynamic life. It feels good to get back in the saddle doesn't it..
19th August 2012

6 months is far too long
Glad to see you are out exploring again. You should write a book about BBQ restaurants in the south.
20th August 2012

Close to home
When you rode to the Saluda circle, you were less then 3 miles from where I live. I love riding out here. There are many roads to take with little to no traffic. Glad you had a good ride, Hope all is well with the family. Charlie

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb