South East USA trip -- part 1, the Carolinas


Advertisement
Published: January 25th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

South East USA


This is a trip I did a few years ago. Starting from my little village North of Montreal, Canada, to explore sites in Virginia, both Carolinas, Georgia and North Florida.

There are thousands of people from Quebec going to Florida every year in the winter, but they never explore other states on the way. For my part, I think one's can find interesting places a bit everywhere on earth, if you learn a bit on these places.

One thing I ever wanted to see was cotton fields. We all know the horrible history of slavery in the US, and many suffered to work in these fields.

I saw my first cotton fields in Goldsboro ,North Carolina.

This is a peculiar plant: The cotton fibers on the plants look like popcorn, and this is quite beautiful.

We reached the coast and continue South. In South Carolina, we passed through Myrtle beach. This is a busy and noisy place, not my forte. One store on the main road, has so much lighting, I am sure it's quite visible from space!!

Continue South, we stopped to do some trails in Cape Romain wildlife refuge. Many little anoles lizard can be seen on the trail, along with birds.

We reached Charleston, which had nice colonial charm. We visited an old plantation, named magnolia's garden: a very nice place with every you expect from an old plantation. A definitive good spot to visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb