Ecuador Awaits...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
January 5th 2020
Published: January 5th 2020
Edit Blog Post

This coming week, I will be returning to Ecuador!

It has been six years since my last visit, and I could not be more thrilled to return to the land, see how it has changed, and explore new areas. I will be staying with a host family for the first two weeks of my stay. My Spanish skills have fallen away with time, but I am hoping that simple phrases will come flooding back, and allow a chance to connect with my host family. As I have been preparing for my trip, feelings of worry and maybe a bit of insecurity have come over me. Will I be confident enough to establish a relationship with my host family? Will I be "all in" when it comes to expressing myself, being assertive, and being willing to step out of my comfort zone? How will the dynamics of my group play out? While all of these questions are relevant to ponder, I have allowed a sense of peace to come over me. This peace gives me the confidence that I will be myself, explore any and all areas of Ecuador that I can, and will learn lots from the individuals and culture around me.

As a psychology major, I am very interested in human interactions, why someone has evolved into the way one has, and how the dynamics of one's life influences one on a holistic level. It will be fascinating to observe relational patterns of the culture, and verbal and nonverbal communication norms, as I have read about in a textbook for my trip. In "Leading with Cultural Intelligence" by David Livermore, he suggests five ways to develop "CQ Drive", which is the motivation, interest, confidence, and drive to adapt in a new culture. These five ways are being honest with yourself, examining confidence levels, eating and socializing in a respectful manner, counting the perks and benefits of the trip, and working for something bigger than the short term benefits of a cultural immersion. These tools will be real assets to keep in mind when interacting with the Ecuadorian culture. It will be vital that I am self-aware and others-aware when connecting with my host family on every level. I cannot wait to explore the culture on a personal level, relational level, and social level.

All of this to say, I am looking forward to making the most of this trip, seeing new beauties across the land, and immersing myself in a culture far different from my own... diversity exposure can lead one to an open mind never known before, can bridge connections, and can instill a global appreciation rooted in compassion, love, adventure, and creativity.



-Lauren Wismer


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb