White's T Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Pine Grove
August 13th 2013
Published: August 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Family Family Family

Family from Bloomsburg at motel in Dublin, Va.
August 13, 2013

Day 35

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED. Our last day started at 7:00 am. As we left our motel in Dublin, VA., a man and his 2 little girls, from Bloomsburg, PA., headed for Louisiana came to talk. Our trip home had to go according to plan, to cover the 417 miles. We started out with rain, dropped the rear curtain. As the day progressed the weather got nicer. After 10 miles, we were talking and missed our first turn, this happened at least 3 more times plus we had to add water to the radiator every 27 to 50 miles. Thought we would baby it home, if possible. By 4:40 pm Ernie Spittler called to see where we were and how the radiator problem was doing, we were pulled over to side of road adding water. Still had 132 miles to go to get home, we are in WV. Our decision was to make it home before dark. While stopped here a man gave us two jugs of water, now we have 5 gallons of water, 12 miles to I-81, instead of gassing up in Martinsburg, WV. we would gas up at a station along I-81. We both
T & FamilyT & FamilyT & Family

One last picture before we leave.
agreed to go I-81, I would drive 45 mph. After gassing up we drove the 113 miles of I-81, averaged 48 mph and made it home at 8:30 pm. The radiator ran cool did not have to add any water, can't figure this one out. Ernie Spittler said if we get home tonight give him a call when we get close, with 18 miles to go, Mae called Ernie, he met us at Dollar General 7 miles from our home. Ernie said, " I want to hear the engine run" I started it up for him, he was amazed (so was I) that the engine sounded as good and quiet as the day we left after 8,294 miles & 35 days of driving.

This has been a trip of a life time for us. We have been Blessed with all the people God put in our paths to help us prepare for the trip and overcome obstacles along the way. Thanks to all those people and our family for taking care of things while we were away.



Jacque & Mae


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Gas stopGas stop
Gas stop

Man stopping to chat.
OverlookOverlook
Overlook

Route 42 overlook, New Castle, Va.
Radiator Radiator
Radiator

One of many times on the way home.
Va.Va.
Va.

Man stopping to offer help on the way home.
Pa.Pa.
Pa.

Coming into Pa. on I-81.
I-81I-81
I-81

Traffic on the interstate.
TruckTruck
Truck

Truck passing on I-81.
Pine GrovePine Grove
Pine Grove

Almost home, what a good feeling.


14th August 2013

Ta-da!
Glad you made it safely home! Enjoyed the daily blog.
14th August 2013

PTL!!!
So glad you are home safe now!!! My goodness what a trip! God's Blessings, Joellen
14th August 2013

wow
I've enjoyed minute of your trip via this blog. Thanks so much for taking the time to share it with us. I now have to call you my SUPER cousins. So glad you made it back safely. Love you!
14th August 2013

WONDERFUL!!!!!!!
What wonderful news that you made it home safely. We are so happy that you had a wonderful trip and saw so much of the country, your friends, the places you used to live and work etc. Newell said you are so brave to tackle such a trip. He wishes he could do it but is not brave enough to tackle it. It was great fun for us to follow you along the way and see the pictures of the trip. Now just relax and enjoy the rest of the summer at home.
14th August 2013
Pine Grove

Faith
Before you left on the trip I asked the question "are you taking something along for protection?" You said without hesitation " I am depending on the Lord all the way" I write this with tear's in my eye's. Your Testimony before you started impressed me and the Lord had no choice but to protect you the whole trip BECAUSE OF YOUR FAITH. I praise the Lord for His Testimony showing us how Faith is the Key to Life on this earth and for eternity. God Bless you always.
15th August 2013

Looking
on TV now for you in a FORD adv. What a feat! This should be in their information of FORD has built it to last, this is what Jim says. I am glad your bodies endured and you are safely home. Thanks for including us in your travels.
17th August 2013

Glad to see you got home safely....
We are so glad you made it home safely... How many years did you folks age? Were real glad your O'K...

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb