Almost hit the three month mark!


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.9522, -75.1624

I have had these great plans to travel the US but it can be so tricky trying to fit flights and bus trips in when you're working with kids.

Lucie and I decided to go on a day trip to Philadelphia as it is only a 2.5 hour bus trip. We tried to see and do as much as we could in the five hours we were there. Google Maps is often a huge pain in the butt when you don't know if you're standing in the North, East, South or West direction (I was never good at Geography, so don't laugh at my lack of direction), so we ended up Ubering everywhere as it was starting to snow too. Philly is like a mini New York, thankfully not as busy and as smelly as NYC. We found out that the main part of Philly is one big circle and we honestly could have walked the couple blocks there and back.

We managed to see the Rocky Steps at the Art Museum, the statues surrounding the museum which was so beautiful, the Independence Hall, the Love Park (Google hypes it up more than they should as it is this tiny little statue that says "love" and we got to see the Reading Terminal Market where we tried the best cookies ever. I would love to go back to Philly for at least a day and a night as I'm sure we missed many hidden gems.

Apart from seeing Philly, I have been getting myself back into shape and I started Taekwondo, it feels great to be back at martial arts. I have just been chilling around in Alexandria and completely avoided DC this past weekend, although I think the loved ones back home were more worried about me than anything else. Trump is officially president and I am still fine and safe in America. I can't believe how time flies, it is already the end of January and I have been here almost 3 months and to be dead honest, I hardly have any intentions of coming back to live in South Africa. I am also taking up Spanish and Sign Language as I have always had an interest in being multilingual. Living in America it is also great to have Spanish under your belt as the Spanish speaking population is quite large.

I have also had to fend for myself and really start being an adult, mom is not down the passage to bring me Ibuprofen or nausea tablets after a night out, I have to feel sorry for myself and sort it out all on my own. Miss having a pharmacist under my roof. I have to show ID to buy sinus medication here (too many meth labs in the US). I also had to buy my own Taekwondo uniform and pay for my own gym contract, so I'm 90% fully adult.
If you're wondering about my experience as an Au Pair, I'll keep it short and sweet; I have learnt that this job is not for the lazy and faint-hearted and sleep becomes your best friend after a while. I have also discovered who my true friends are back home and the outcome is disappointing and reassuring at the same time and I am so grateful to have such awesome friends here in the US, my experience would have been extremely lonely without them.

As I have said before, I will try update this as much as I can to keep everyone updated.

All my love and sparkles

Claudi The Unicorn xxxxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb