Taking home bits of your travels (ethically)


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

If you’ve done a lot of traveling, then you know that the amazing places you’ve seen always leave you with a wanting to remember them – vividly. But, that isn’t always as easy as buying a cheap souvenir. Maybe you don’t have space, or maybe those little cheap trinkets don’t capture the feeling you had standing on top of the Parthenon in Athens for the first time. I get it.

I know exactly how you feel. Every place I’ve ever been I’ve wanted to tattoo onto my person (but let’s be honest…that may not be the most attractive option in the world). Yet, I also know that I can’t go taking bits of the Berlin wall or Machu Picchu just because I have a nostalgic itch I know I’ll need to scratch.

So what should you do on your next trip?

Well the answer is actually pretty common sense. We don’t want to be the individual that brings down the world’s most popular tourist sites. We want them to last for future generations. If you still aren’t sure about your own impact, consider that if every single one of the millions of tourists who visited Athens every year took a tiny little piece of the Parthenon, over time, there would be nothing left to see. It would be tragic.

But, don’t fret. You can change negative impact into positive impact. What I do, specifically, to create long-lasting travel memories ethically isn’t a difficult list to adhere to. You don’t have to be more than lame (like these American tourists) and carve your name on the Roman Coliseum. Remembering your trip is as simple as figuring out what exactly it is that works for you.

For me, I like to pick specific jewelry or textile pieces from the places I visit. These are small, but also unique. In this way, whenever I wear them I am instantly transported back to a time place where I purchased them. Another option I often go for involves my sketchbook. I generally always have mine with me (but don’t be intimidated).

You don’t have to be an award-winning artist to jot down some unforgettable moments in charcoal. In all honesty, these sketches are some of my favorite souvenirs. But, if you’re looking for something else, another method I often take is photography. This can also be lucrative for your pocketbook if you know where to look.

You can also decide to scrapbook your ticket stubs, museum passes or plane tickets – whatever you keep to create a one-of-a-kind keepsake. If you’re looking for a way to combine the two, why not consider your vacation photographs, keepsakes and creative travel-themed wall decals? It’s an easy and special way to really highlight those unforgettable moments you experienced.

Whatever you decide to record your travel memories, just keep in mind that it’s important to be ethical and sustainable in your actions. You may prefer intangible happenings that you journal, or tangible items you can pull out and look at again or wear. The most important detail that you can remember is to respect the site you are visiting.



We all deserve to witness the world’s beauty equally. Practice responsible tourism.

Photos: Nick Grapsy · Barry Jackson · Kiley

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb