Home sweet home - a grand finale


Advertisement
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Berlin, GermanyBerlin, GermanyBerlin, Germany

East Side Gallery (Berlin Wall)
A confession: I’m writing most of this almost a week after I returned. It’s taken me several days to properly reflect on things. And the marathon and the R&R that followed it have not led to expediency. Nevertheless, I’ve decided to write it as of the last day of my trip. I’ve included a few of my favorite pictures from the most memorable spots along the way.

Coming home



As the end of my trip approached, people continually asked me if I was ready to get home. At times I was ready; at others I was wishing for months more. But overall, I’m glad to be back.

When I look back on the last 64 days, it seems as if I left some of the places just yesterday, while others feel like a lifetime ago. Nevertheless, the beauty of such a long trip is that I could actually enjoy each place I went without worrying that things would come to an end too soon and would shortly be back at work, sitting in front of a computer manipulating iteration after iteration of some financial model, counting down the hours to when I could go home that night.
Barcelona, SpainBarcelona, SpainBarcelona, Spain

Xampanyeria tapas bar

It’s nice to be home and not heading back to work. By the end, the destinations and sights remained exceptional, but they had still lost some of their novelty. I’m looking forward to a nice break back in reality.

Flying solo



Before I left, Sarah called me out on something.

Sarah: You’re kind of a loner, aren’t you?
Ryan: No. Loners are people that hole up in the woods with big beards. Like the Unabomber.
Sarah: But you like your space. You’re very independent.
Ryan: Exactly. I love my independence. And I don’t mind being alone.

I put my self beliefs through a rigorous test over the last 64 days.

While I was rarely alone in the sense that there were typically people around - actually I probably had less space than usual since I was typically sharing rooms - for a good part of the trip I was on my own. Countless hours of touring, sometimes by myself and sometimes with a group, and many meals were spent in my own sole company, in silent conversation on the day that had passed, the day to come or just plain nothing as I relaxed in
Dublin, IrelandDublin, IrelandDublin, Ireland

Guinness Storehouse
casual observation of my surroundings.

For the most part, it made the trip special, as I was better able to absorb what I had seen and took part in, giving me a much more meaningful and authentic travel and cultural experience than had I merely checked off items in a tour book and gone with some of the crowd most nights to get blacked out drunk in a random bar or club. But I was fortunate that I was able to meet a number of great people along the way with whom I shared many of the things I would have experienced on my own, their company enhancing an already great experience.

What’s more was the diverse group of people I met along the way - locals, foreigners, men, women, fun people, not-so-fun people, funny people, annoying people, annoying people who weren’t so annoying after a couple rounds, people from near my home town, people from halfway across the world, adventurists, museum dwellers, party animals, shut ins, extroverts, introverts, intellects, idiots, left brainers, right brainers, solo travelers, group travelers, single, married, divorced, young, old, black, white, Hispanic… you name it and the group was somehow represented.

The group that had the strongest representation was certainly Australians. They were everywhere, as travelers, hostel workers, bartenders and tour guides. But the great part about it - they were a lot of fun. To stereotype a bit, the Aussies were all outgoing, fun, adventurous people who traveled for months on end and carried positive, care free attitudes, which allowed them to easily socialize with other Aussies and anyone else they could find.

Perhaps the most shocking thing about them was their ability to travel for many months (often 4-6 months but some for more than a year at a time) but then return to their jobs and significant others as if nothing much had really changed. Surely the attitude must be embedded in their culture as I couldn’t imagine Fred the American factory worker or Bill the banker ever requesting months off at a time (hell a week is a great triumph anymore). Their culture is unique. It’s a culture I applaud and one that we can learn from (but instead we prefer to be lifestyle masochists as we poke fun at weak cultures like the French for their six weeks off in August).

Living the dream


Athens, GreeceAthens, GreeceAthens, Greece

1896 Olympic Stadium

When I finished up my first tour in the Eastern US, I wrote that many people are envious of the opportunity I’ve had but typically let their own limitations (some justifiable) overcome their holistic desires. The last two months have strengthened this view as I’ve continued to pursue one of my dreams.

The most common naysay I heard was cost. It’s an understandable one, especially in these trying economic times. Yet people fail to realize that a little sacrifice can make most anything attainable. If something is so significant yet cost prohibitive, perhaps worthwhile would be the sacrifice of many things that our silly society would make us believe are basic needs - cell phones and all sorts of innovative new gadgets, cable, big homes with all the modern accessories, designer clothes, new cars, lavish meals, all kinds of useless things intended for children but in actuality for parents…. I pass no judgment as I infract many of these myself but merely point out many of the simple sacrifices that can be made to pursue something so important to be classified a dream. And no, I wasn’t able to pursue this simply because I hit the Wall Street lottery -
Ios, GreeceIos, GreeceIos, Greece

Mylopotas beach
that line of thinking is a far too convenient copout that too many people use to rationalize an I can’t attitude.

I’ve been fortunate as to learn this at such a young age and have had it reinforced over the past few months. For I can think of few worse torments than to lay on my deathbed, knowing that I could have led a much more substantial life. And God only knows when that day will come.

So I’ll continue to take advantage of this fortuitous realization in the coming days, weeks and years and will encourage others to do the same, as a collective change of views will naturally crush the societal restrictions that we all find inane yet to which we yield our desires.

What’s next?



First thing’s first - I have the New York City Marathon this Sunday. That should be quite the adventure as I’ve definitely sacrificed my training to travel. Last year, I ran about 620 training miles to prepare for the Harrisburg Marathon. This year I’ve run about 250 miles. I’ve made a calculated decision to run less and enjoy my trip. Hopefully it works out. Either way, no excuses.
Munich, GermanyMunich, GermanyMunich, Germany

Oktoberfest at Spaten tent
It was my call.

After the marathon, I’ll spend the holidays at home and make a few short trips for weddings and possibly to see friends along the East Coast. After that, it’s decision time. Do I keep traveling or should I finally settle down and do something which I have absolutely no desire to do - get a job.

Undoubtedly I’ll consider my own advice and see whether the pursuit justifies the means to pursue it. But if the potential next stage appears even remotely as attractive as has been the last two months, my decision will be an easy one.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Paris, FranceParis, France
Paris, France

Glass Pyramid at The Louvre
Normandy, FranceNormandy, France
Normandy, France

American Cemetery
Ofxord, EnglandOfxord, England
Ofxord, England

Formal Hall at Pembroke College
Bordeaux, FranceBordeaux, France
Bordeaux, France

Wine tasting and pizza
Lucerne, SwitzerlandLucerne, Switzerland
Lucerne, Switzerland

Alpenhorns on Mount Pilatus
Salzburg, AustriaSalzburg, Austria
Salzburg, Austria

Mirabell Garden


15th November 2009

Nice Trip
Enjoyed your blogs on your trip. How the heck you could afford to do this in this economy is beyond me but kudos to you. Next time we expect less running and more crazy nights.

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb