Pacific Coast!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
August 26th 2017
Published: August 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I can now cross another state off my list as I have made it to Oregon! I'm very much looking forward to recharging my batteries out here and i can feel it happening already.

My wonderful sister took me to O'Hare early this morning for my flight. I knew this trip was going to be good when my gate was right after I came through security. How often does that happen! The flight was an uneventful four hours and some change. The descent into Portland was pretty cool with the mountains on either side of the plane. I don't know which one was Mt Hood, but they were all beautiful. The Portland airport was quiet and easy to navigate. I made my way to the rental car counter, checked in and even got a free upgrade to the midsize car as all the compacts gone! I have a nice bright blue hybrid Fusion and, other than having a weird dial for the gear shift, it's pretty nice.

Traffic immediately around Portland was a little slow and I ended up having to make a few GPS adjustments when I missed my exits, but it all worked out. I eventually got
Gales Creek OverlookGales Creek OverlookGales Creek Overlook

A scenic stop in the Tillamook State Forest
onto Highway 6 which is a two lane highway that goes through Tillamook State Forest. I really enjoyed this drive through the woods. There were lots of curves, steep hills on either side of the road and several scenic turnoffs. Just a little ways after the "You are now leaving the Tillamook State Forest" sign, the landscape opened up to a large valley. There are lots of wineries in this area and I drove past several fields of grapes. I drove through the small town of Tillamook (I will be back for the cheese!), stopped at the grocery store to get some juice and salad for dinner, and continued the 6 additional miles to my hotel.

I'm staying in the tiny coastal town of Netarts at the Terimore Motel by the Sea. And it's right by the water! I purposely chose a room on the second floor with a balcony so I could enjoy the view. It did not disappoint! There is a 180 degree view of the coast and I could sit here all week just enjoying it. The waves are crashing, there is the faint sound of sea birds and the air smells of the ocean. There
HEAVENHEAVENHEAVEN

The view from my room.
is a stairway in front of the motel that leads down to the beach and that was my first stop after unloading the car. The water is quite cold but felt great on my feet after a long day of travel.

And so my vacation begins. I'm going to spend the rest of the evening sitting outside enjoying the sounds of the waves!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Beach ViewBeach View
Beach View

Looking north


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb