getting back to the mother.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhhhhhhh!
This is a very satisfying life I am experiencing now.
Mother nature is all around me and I am working in it everyday now. I arrived here at gypsy cafe Thursday to beautiful scenery and incredible people. Two other wwoof-ers came on the same day I did, all traveling independently! Funny, and the night I stayed at a women's shelter on the way here, I rode a late bus to get there. It was already dark by the time we had gotten to first avenue (somewhere on this road the shelter was chillin) and i was going to get off when we reached it, but another lady asked me if i was going there and took me there with her. as it turns out, she was really late (you had to be there by 6:45pm to sleep there for the night if you knew the rules) and they almost didn't let her sleep there. and the street i would have wandered for at least an hour was not a good street to be on after dark.
absolutely amazing happening, and other things like that occur not all the time, but just when they need too.
now gypsy cafe is not only filled with lovely people and interesting visitors (some coming fairly often, some just a night, or a weekend, or just a little stop by) but it is so relaxed and the work is fulfilling. We are currently working on a 200 sq ft cob and straw house for one of the ladies who lives here. It already has an amazing atmosphere, and its such a great feeling to be building with earth. Its just clay, sand, and straw. its already come quite a ways since i got here.
The food is also very good (and i'm eating a lot of it; what with cobbing, it is hard work!), and all very good for me. no pestisides, hormones, chemicals, abused animals, etc. going in my body now! : D
such a happy thought, i am learning to make use of the earth while still being good to it.
I am working hard, I have a great sense of learning and community, and sleeping in my hammock which has proven very comfortable.
i hitched here by myself, that worked out just fine. all the people i accepted rides from were men but they were all nice and good people. I only really got nervous once, and i just told myself that i was silly and worked through it. yay!! i don't know how much i want to hitch by myself (i may not have to, i will run into other travelers i've read and been told...) still but at least i know i can if i want. i've been told canada has nice people. : )
Any how it is a little after lunch time here and i think i will find soemthing to eat and read while a little tiny electrical storm is rolling in here.
side note: wow california fires! its been smokey here for the past couple days from them, and there was a fire going north of here when i was coming down. its very dry in the summer, but it still stays so green.
xoxoxo
-Areca





Advertisement



18th August 2008

Adventurous girl
Hey, Erica!! How many adventures, huh?! I`m happy to hear you`re having a good time. Enjoy it the best you can. Write me an e-mail if you have a chance. Love you. XXOO, Juliana

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb