T-Minus 21 Days & Counting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Springfield
July 16th 2011
Published: July 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As we prepare to set off on another one of our adventures, I can't help but look back on all the others......

Disneyland, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Knotts Berry Farm, Medieval Times, Hearst Castle, Mexican Riviera Cruise, Joshua Tree National Park, Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Death Valley National Park, Grand Canyon National Park, Yellowstone, Badlands, Tombstone Arizona, Avenue of the Giants California, Chief Joseph Dam Washington, Las Vegas Nevada, Sandpoint Idaho, Bannack Montana, Madison Buffalo Jump Montana, Pictograph Cave Montana, Knife River Indian Village North Dakota, Deadwood South Dakota, Little Bighorn Battlefield Montana and of course who can forget U Turn Yuma just to name a few.

I decided to start blogging my vacations for two reasons:
1. So that I can actually remember what happened on a daily basis
2. So that I can actually remember what happened on a daily basis

We always seem to find the funniest things or have something very strange happen to us (or pass us), while we are traveling along. I try to snap a picture and we laugh and then by the time we get home we can't exactly remember what happened; we just know it was HILARIOUS!

So here we are T-Minus 21 days and counting to our annual August vacation. This is the 2011 Mystery Tour. Unbeknownst to my family they think we are going on one trip when really my mom and I have planned a whole other trip and route! Hee Hee! I have made daily hint sheets for our next destination that I will hand out each morning to give them a chance to guess where we are going. This ought to be interesting.

Here is a sample of the hint sheets I have made for each destination:

Where are we going?

I was founded in 1905
I have had a post office since 1906
My zip code is 89423
I sit at 4,721’ in elevation
I am in Douglas County
I was named after a town of the same name in the German state of North Rhine Westphalia
I am one of the top gliding spots on earth. Sailplanes have lifted off here and flown for up to 1,000 miles
Just east of my location is one of the best thermal generators in the world
US Highway 395 runs through me

Here’s to 7 days of pure bliss (cough, choke), while we travel by vehicle and see some amazing sights. I plan to blog daily (as long as I can get internet access) by the pool with Corona in hand and snap many pictures along the way. All Aboard for the 2011 Mystery Tour!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb