Portland!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
November 24th 2013
Published: December 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

The CrewThe CrewThe Crew

Paul, Elaine, Mark, Anna, Sofia, David, and Eliana. What a lovely family.
Portland is the funkiest town I have ever set foot in. From the mix matched people to the chicken farm front lawns, Portland has it all. The city is so odd it even has it's own tv show, portlandia! Everyone bikes everywhere. And if it's not a bike, it's some sort of 2,3,4 wheeled contraption. The city is very ecofriendly and tried not to waste anything. They have a limit on how much garbage there can be and won't take it if they see anything that could have been recycled. The front yards are often decorated with flowers and plants rather than grass. I've collected a lot of awesome ideas from this town!

Paul and I drove up (I slept the entire way) to portland from bainbridge island this morning. The couple hour drive went by quickly and we were soon eating at burgerville in Oregon. (I had a yummy veggie burger and sweet potato fries!!) Anna, Paul and Elaine's daughter, lives in a fun part of town with her husband David, her 3 year old daughter Eliana, and new 3 month old baby Sofia! Paul built beautiful cabinets for Anna so we unloaded all the pieces from the truck
The city of PortlandThe city of PortlandThe city of Portland

A view from the tramway car.
so he could assemble everything inside.

Anna dropped Eliana off at preschool and then joined Paul and I for some breakfast and coffee at a nearby cafe. Portland has many cafés and restaurants, especially on hawthorn and division which is only a few roads over from Anna's house. Later that day I walked down hawthorn and explored the street and stores. There were sooo many vintage/hipster stores with clothing that I don't think I would ever wear/ would ever want to wear! One store had 1000 ugly Christmas sweaters, I was tempted to buy my Oma one that had a cat on it.i bought a dangly lizard belly button ring, but it broke later that day. I also bought some really neat present for a few friends and my mom. Powell's book store is known as the largest book store in the west coast I believe, but I went to the mini version of it. This was still massive and I got the chance to find a book that was recommended by a few people, "In a Sunburnt Country", aswell as a very interesting book on changing the way you think about things into more of an optimistic way.
Tramway RideTramway RideTramway Ride

Paul, Anna, little Sofia, and Eliana!
I sat and caught up on my blogging/reading in the little coffee shop attached. The vibe of the entire place is so wonderful, and although I'm not as fashionably hip, I must have seemed like it at points because my one orange sweater doesn't go with all my pants. Ouuu fashionista on accident! I met Anna around 3 o'clock and we went to "little tea" before a yoga class that was around the corner. I love yoga, hopefully I get a chance to invest more time into going when I get back home. All in all, a wonderful day.

Paul, Anna, little Sofia, Eliana, and I made our way downtown to catch the tramway car up to a hospital that also acts as a great lookout point. I didn't realize how big portland actually is since it feels like such a homey place. Although there are massive apartments and business buildings everywhere, you can drive for 5 minutes and be surrounded by a lush forest. We hiked up a few miles to the top of a hill to get to pittock mansion. Although we didn't go inside, the elegance of the building didn't go unnoticed. The view from the yard overlooks the entire city. After all that hiking we had worked up an appetite so went into einsteins for bagels! Elaine and Mark showed up in Portland that night to complete the mini family reunion. Elaine, Paul, Anna, David, Mark, Eliana, Sofia and I all crammed into Anna's van. It was a hilarious event and seemed as bough it should be apart of some commercial or comedy tv show. We went to McMinnemins, an old elementary school that had been restored as a hotel with a soak room, restaurant, and smoke room. We all went swimming in the warm outdoor pool except for David and Mark who enjoyed their cigars. I think we were all impressed with out meals, and I got to try bread pudding for the first time which is quite the treat!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING! I'm almost losing track of how many thanksgiving dinners I've had. (this is the third) I have to say this thanksgiving dinner was my favourite out of the three. Not only did the food, prepared mostly by David and Elaine, taste amazing, but the neighbours and friends were cheerful and delightful to talk to. I was stuffed to say the least, and then come the pies, which I had to try some of each of course. A fire was burning and we all sat around it until there were only 4 of us left, David, Mark, myself, and a neighbour named Frank. I'm not sure if Frank was really drunk, or just an odd guy in general, but his stories of raccoons attacking him and frisking people definitely entertained us. Sometimes the weirdest of people are the best to have around at gatherings. Never a dull moment.

The whole gang headed out to Mount Hood, up to the Timberland Lodge. This lodge is famous for its outdoor side where the movie "the shining" was filmed. Paul and Mark went skiing for the day and we walked around the building and Eliana played in the snow. The old building is breathtaking. The area where we had lunch had pillars made from gigantic old trees. The massive fireplace and the old wooden beams set a really good vibe which went perfectly with my chowder in a bread bowl meal!

We headed downtown to REI and looked around, then made our way to a cool store called cargo, full of random things from all over the world. We finished the outing my stopping at Barista, the best place for a vanilla latte ever. Oh I almost forgot, it's Eliana's birthday! She turned 3 today and celebrated with a birthday party inviting abunch of her friends to come over. I don't think I have been around that many children since I was in kindergarden myself. The savages beat open a piñata and ran around until their tank of energy finally started to empty. The chocolate mole on the chicken was a new recipe for me, and once again a spectacular one!

There is an episode in portlandia where the two main characters are eating a crepe at the food carts, and that's exactly what we did! I had a delish ham and cheese crepe, and then shared a pear and chocolate crepe with Elaine! Paul and Mark were very intrigued by poutine, which for me, isn't very special at all! We wandered around 23rd street and did some shopping. A lot of the stores were really expensive, good thing I don't need any more clothing for awhile. Since we were close, we obviously had to stop at barista once more before circling
Thanks for giving us a wonderful meal Anna!Thanks for giving us a wonderful meal Anna!Thanks for giving us a wonderful meal Anna!

Thanks giving with the Rosenstiels
home.

Elaine and I walked up to Belmont and returned my broken lizard belly button ring, looked in more shops, and then had an espresso in a very hipster like new cafe. The music was loud and nothing I have ever heard before. The guy working there had longer hair than I do and the people in the store were all quite unique as well. I repacked my suitcase and took a few unnecessary clothing articles out. I also made Christmas cards for all of my friends and family to send back. Since we were so close to the west coast, it would have been a crime not to get fresh fish. David, Eliana and I went out to a sushi place where we had more and better sushi than I have ever seen. One had an octopus tentacle on it!! The sushi with fish on it was tender and cooked perfectly, the battered sushi was my favourite I think, but all of the maybe 10 different kinds of sushi were outstanding. Ten outa ten when it comes to sushi in my books! When we got back we played a fun game of apples to apples and then the phrase party game I had on my ipad, what a blast!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

How cuteHow cute
How cute

Elianas little giggle is enough to bring a smile to anyones face.
SUSHI SUSHI
SUSHI

The freshest sushi I have ever eaten. Sushi from the west coast is 100 times better than any sushi Ive eaten in Brantford
Pinata Pinata
Pinata

Piñatas are always loads of fun.
Biancas heavenBiancas heaven
Biancas heaven

I bet my sister would spend hours in this store
Portland ShopsPortland Shops
Portland Shops

This is a store completely filled with vintage clothing and ugly Christmas sweaters.


23rd December 2013

Portland
Hi Charlotte.Again this a wonderful rich funny report on your trip. The family is wonderful.Did I not tell you that Paul and Elaine a great people. To bad that you never met Paul's Parents.Do you remember the old print with the elaborate train to the coronation ? That is from his parents. Take care and we love you. BIG HUGS, Oma and Opa.
1st January 2014

Our dog Yoda went to Portland, remember? He has probably enjoyed a wonderful life there! I would love to visit Portland too. Your description shows an inviting, interesting place that I am so glad you had the opportunity to visit (in the company of such wonderful people.) Continued great travelling Charlotte. Love Mom

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb