Getting Started.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
May 28th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi all.

This is an experiment. I'm going to try blogging as Mary and I drive across country from Portland, Oregon to Pinehaven, our summer residence in Bridgton, Maine. It's an experiment in blogging on multiple levels.

First, it's an experiment in the sense that I haven't mastered the downloaded blog software, so it can't be predicted whether and to what degree I'll be successful in emailing material to you. You'll likely get to see me flail around in my attempts. Or maybe I'll just lose stuff in the ether, and you won't get to see me flailing. Who knows?

Second, I have no experience in blogging. If I lose interest, my entries may be few and far between. Or I may be a boring writer or choose boring subjects. In that case, you get to do the editing with your delete button.

Or maybe you don't care to be included as a subscriber (that's what the software calls you). If so, please let me know, or use the unsubscribe process if there is one. I won't be offended in any event. If you know of someone who you think would like to be a subscriber, please let me know, with an email address for the nominated (condemned?) candidate. The subscriber list is the third level of experimentation.

I'm sure there are additional experimentation levels, but I won't belabor the point any further.

Now, let me give some context to this blog idea.

In 2009 Mary and I first drove across country. We took a southern route, had a wonderful time, met up with friends in Texas, enjoyed Civil War monuments in Virginia and Pennsylvania, took in an Asheville Tourists game, etc. Mary blogged during that trip, with an occasional post from me. This trip I'll try the blogging, with an occasional post from Mary.

We're planning on taking a northern route this time. The map above shows the most direct route. Of course, that route would have us drown in two Great Lakes. We'll be ambling instead, mostly off the interstates. We've recently adopted the goal of getting to Mt. Rushmore and then Theodore Rossevelt National Park in time for the cowboy breakfast next weekend. So preliminary plans to get to Glacier and then Yellowstone have been deferred to another trip. After that, who knows?

We do know we'll pass through Niagra Falls and Ithaca (as in '09) late in the trip. In Ithaca we'll be visiting with our friend Bob (and his wife Barb, who we haven't yet met but expect to befriend) and with Luz' uncle Jorge. Last time through we knew no one in Ithaca.

We plan to arrive at Pinehaven late in June or early in July. Once past Ithaca I'm sure I'll be itching to get off the road and be in Maine.

As I said, this is all an experiment. But in the big picture, so is life.

We hit the road in about two hours.

Roy

Advertisement



28th May 2012

HAVE A WONDERFUL TRIP
Hi Roy & Mary. Your trip sounds like fun and excitement all rolled into one. Have a wonderful trip and drive safe. Look forward to hearing about your journey.
29th May 2012

We are looking forward to your adventure!
29th May 2012

Sam already has things to send you...his latest artwork creations! They will be waiting for your arrival at Pinehaven. Have a great time and we can't wait to see you in July!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb