Internship update, day 23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
November 9th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Went with Anna to the meeting with the steering committee in Portland today, where we (she) were supposed to present our process so far within the Travel Oregon Philanthropy Project. All credit to Anna, who did the talking, while I took notes and tried to absorb all the information and input from the others. I got some positive feedback on my research which really boosted my confidence. It's kind of terrifying, sitting in a room with 15 highly professional and native English speaking representatives from different tourism providers and travel organizations, while trying to justify your own quiet presence. But nonetheless, having the opportunity to be able to participate in the development of this project and getting the chance to help out with research and email and phone contact with potential awardees is a huge inspiration for me, seeing as how Destination Management is something I want to work with after graduating. This project is really touching the local aspects of that area and apart from a business to business level, I'm also learning so much about Oregon as a whole, as well as its regions. I'm really grateful that Anna is giving me this chance and for all the support she's been giving me since I started at STI.

Bringing a small fraction of the motivation, inspiration and knowledge that the people at STI work with, with me back to Sweden, would more than sufficiently fulfill the purpose of my time here.

Oh, and I went to The Dalles yesterday and applied for my Social Security Card which I should be getting by mail next week. Legal alien next!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb