Stopover In Oregon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Keizer
September 13th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After San Francisco my mom and I headed up to Oregon where I would spend the rest of my time in the US until I flew to Korea. It wouldn't be all rest though as I would be working at the State Fair like I have done for the past few years at the end of August until the beginning of September. This year was definitely the best experience I had by far. I was able to work more in the area that someday I would like to do for a career, which is in music. The shows that I was a part of were: Cheap Trick, Sessionfest (3 blues/rock bands played that night), The Judds, and Selena Gomez. I learned so much even in the short amount of time of the fair. It was also nice because I was able to see some people from past years that I have worked with including the guys at Cascade Sound (http://cascadesound.com/), and some other bands I have worked with that are more local and play on the stages around the fair. This year I was able to see more of the bands that I haven't been able to see in past years because I was working including Amy Clawson & Coltrane (http://www.amyclawson.com/).
After the fair was over we had the big task of getting a garage sale set up for a couple days so we could try to sell some things and I could make money for some things I needed before I went to Korea. it is always a lot of work, but it was definitely nice to get rid of some things and have the extra cash.
On Saturday night (night of the 10th), we went to a free concert in Keizer Rapids park. It was a local singer named Ty Curtis who is a blues singer. I had only worked with him before and wasn't able to watch him play before, so it was nice to sit and watch. He was pretty good and I enjoyed it, especially since the weather was so nice and warm out. Check him out if you get a chance http://tycurtisband.com/.
The last couple days here I'm just trying to catch up with family and some friends. Sunday night I went to a restaurant with a friend from the fair and some of her friends. It was nice to just relax and hang out with people and have a good meal.
Now of course starts the daunting task of trying to pack for a year and get the essentials to get me started while I'm over there. I also am the ever thinking ahead, so thinking about Christmas presents as well are on my mind as well as a wedding present for my friend who is getting married next month.
Well, I think that is about all for now. It has been a busy two weeks, but a nice little stopover here before I'm on my way. Next time I "speak" to you again I'm sure I'll be in Korea!


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb