New yoga class


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Hood River
November 3rd 2010
Published: November 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I signed up for a months unlimited membership at Flow Yoga, and took my first class on Monday. Apparently I had misunderstood the whole situation and ended up stretching and pulling my own body weight (which, to my advantage, isn't that heavy) in straps hanging from the ceiling. Despite being paranoid that the straps would give away to the weight of my pulling or that I would snatch something in my body, it was really fun. And most of all interesting to see how much I could push my body to endure based on the fact that I've never worked out, literally never, since high school when it was mandatory. I was a bit embarrassed since all the others in the class were fit and went to to the yoga center several times a week, but I managed to actually hold some positions longer than the others (and feeling a bit smug about it). It must be some dissociative thing going on though, not really understanding my physical boundaries. I bet I'll end up breaking something.

Tomorrow I'm going with Erica to a Hot Yoga class, which will be very exciting. It'll be the first time I try real yoga and I even went down to Walmart on Sunday and got us two yoga mats so we'll come prepared! We've decided to try to take 4 classes each week; Fly on Mondays (her in the morning cause kids have soccer (it's so weird that they call it that here) in the afternoon, and me in the afternoon class cause I'm too lazy to get up at 5am), Hot Yoga on Wednesdays, Flow on Thursdays and one of the yoga classes they have on Saturday mornings. We'll just have to see how long I last.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb