Off to Oregon and Alaska!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Eugene
June 29th 2016
Published: June 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Even though this is my third blog on this site, I'm not sure I've really figured it out. I'm not in Oregon yet so I probably should have put in Falls Church, VA since that's where I'm writing this, but I'm not writing about Falls Church so I thought I should put in the first place I'm visiting on my next trip....which is Eugene, Oregon.

I leave tomorrow morning for Eugene where I will spend a week visiting my brother and his wife and going to the Olympic Track and Field Trials (as well as hiking and hopefully visiting breweries and wineries) before heading to Alaska on July 6th. I will meet a friend in Juneau for a 3+ week adventure in Alaska. We booked this trip last September....two months before I booked my "last minute" trip to India. We both wanted to go to Alaska and neither of us wanted to do the traditional Alaska cruise, and we both wanted a trip that would include hiking, kayaking and a variety of outdoor experiences. We ultimately chose two back to back trips...an REI Inside Passage Cruise and a World Outdoor Multi-Sport Adventure.

A few weeks after I returned from India, I was diagnosed with breast cancer and all our plans were in jeopardy. Here is my cautionary tale to everyone reading this regarding travel insurance. I have always purchased travel insurance right after booking a trip and therefore had the benefit that covered pre-existing conditions. However, the only reason I had done this was because I had either booked the trip fairly close to departure, or the travel company I was going with gave a big discount for paying the full amount upfront. Anyway, my friend and I both decided that we didn't want to spend the $500+ for insurance when our deposits were less than that....and since we didn't have any pre-existing conditions, we would wait to purchase travel insurance when our full deposits were due. BUT....once I had my diagnosis, we needed to pay our final payments by the required date and there would be no coverage for any problems related to my cancer. Luckily, I only needed surgery and radiation and I am fully recovered and ready to go. However, we did lose the first part of our trip (an REI Inside Passage Cruise) because they wouldn't hold the trip pending test results that would assure I'd be okay to travel by July. Had we had travel insurance covering pre-existing conditions, this would not have been a problem. The bottom line is that we are doing the Inside Passage using Alaska State Ferries and staying 3 nights in both Sitka and Ketchikan. While it's not quite the same as doing the Inside Passage on a 74 passenger boat, I think we may end up having some pretty unique experiences that we wouldn't have had doing the REI trip...and we are saving a boatload (no pun intended) of money by doing it this way. The second part of our trip is with World Outdoors...Kudos to this company, who extended the date for final payment by two weeks giving us the time needed for test results determining the needed treatments following surgery. BTW-I guess it's a bit naive to be my age and not realize that one could develop a "condition" in the 6 months between booking a trip and making the final payment!

I changed my profile picture from the Indian Sari to a picture in my Nats t-shirt....taken in the Nats dugout on a tour I did last month. When I left last summer on my Coast to Coast England walk, the Nats were doing great and they tanked while I was gone. I am hoping that they don't do as poorly while I am gone this year...but I'll be back for the big push in August-September anyway. Go Nats!!!

Advertisement



29th June 2016

Awesome Ann!
You are amazing Ann! I have always been proud of you and considered myself lucky to have you for a friend, but even more so now. I love your spirit and your enthusiasm for the world around you. You don't just see the many places you visit but you experience all they have to offer. And now you don't even let your health hold you back. I'm so impressed. And I'm so thankful you are ok. We need to get together when you get back. Take care and have fun on your trip. Love you.
29th June 2016

You really made it!
Have a wonderful time...you are amazing!
30th June 2016

Alaska State Ferry
I went from Prince Rupert, BC to Skagway, AK on the state ferry, and I loved it. Since it went through the Tongas National Forest, there was a ranger on board who gave lectures and took us on expeditions looking for berries in Ketchikan, counting eagles in the narrow passage out to Sitka, and watching whales cavort next to the boat. The ferry was very large, with staterooms for sleeping, if you want, or lounge chairs out on the deck under heater to sleep in your sleeping bag. There was a large restaurant or snack bars for food. And, as you know, it was a whole lot cheaper than the alternative.
30th June 2016

Your first blog on the Alaska adventure
I will hope to follow this, but occasionall reminders on FB never hurt. Will need to go back to read up on your India trip. You're having quite a year, and it isn't even quite half over!
30th June 2016

Oregon Bach festival
I'll be following along as I am curious about Alaska ferries but I think you are in Eugene for the Bach festival. Check it out if you have time
30th June 2016

Eugene
I'm in Eugene for the Track and Field Olympic Trials. The good performances of the festival while I'm here conflict with the trials. it sounds great.
1st July 2016

Have a super time!
Ann, so good to hear you are all right and up for travels again. Love reading your blog. Remember we met you at the AT Biennial and someday plan to do the Coast to Coast trail. Sooner than that, we have a trip to Alaska coming up the end of August. We booked with Backroads for a multi-sport vacation which includes kayaking, hiking and safari. After that, we will take the train back to Anchorage from Fairbanks and rent an RV for about 8 days. Right now, we plan to head to the Kenai Pennisula for most of that time. So, bottom line, I will be very interested in your travels in Alaska. Keep the blog a comin!! Have a super trip!! ;-)
1st July 2016

I'll be keeping you posted on my Alaska adventures soon. I hope to see you in Maine at the ATC conference next summer!
4th July 2016

Happy 4th of July. Hope you're enjoying this time with your family.
Can't wait for your trip to continue. Have fun and be safe.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb