Preparing for the Road Trip to Mexico


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Bend
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My restless feet have been twitching fiercely since the return from Ireland in 2006. The coming of Mia Azul postponed any 2007 travel plans but we're all three armed with passports now and once again ready to travel. Our current adventure is a road trip to Mexico. I will be traveling with 5 year old Erika and 4 month old Mia. Our journey will cover approximately three weeks with travel time and vacation. The latest plan goes something like this:

Feb 29th: Depart Bend 3:30pm for Yuba City, CA where we'll spend the night with Kara and Justin
Mar 1st: Leave Kara's place late afternoon and head for San Diego and stay with Barney and Veronica
Mar 2nd: Park car on the US side of US:Mexico border and walk across the border with two suitcases, stroller, car seat, and children in tow. Take a taxi to the Tijuana airport, check our baggage, sneak back out, take a taxi to the Hard Rock Cafe so I can score another shot glass in my collection, then return to the airport and await our 1am departure to Guadalajara
Mar 3rd: Arrive Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico and link up with Erika's dad Fernando.
Mar 4th-7th: Explore Guadalajara and surrounding areas, do some geocaching, perhaps see our old friends Jose and Carmen.
Mar 7th: Depart Guadalajara for Mexico City via car or public transportation (to be determined at a later date) Link up with Jose's mother and sister.
Mar 7th-12th: Explore Mexico City and surrounding areas, do some geocaching, maybe make our way to Acapulco or the state of Guerrero to meet Jose's grandparents, maybe the state of Puebla to visit his other sister.
Mar 12th: Depart Mexico City airport at 8am enroute back to Tijuana. Take a taxi to the border station. Wait in a long line of people with two suitcases, stroller, car seat, and hopefully two children still in tow. Sleep at David and Jenny's place in Santa Barbara if we can find it.
Mar 13th: Depart Santa Barbara enroute to the next relative's house (to be determined)
Mar 14th: Depart one relative's house in search of the next one, you get the idea.
Mar 15th-16th: Wander around California visiting family
Mar 17th: Return to Bend and take a very long nap. I always need a vacation to recover from my vacations.
Mar 18th: Go back to work 😞

If anyone is not interested in receiving a daily email when I post a new entry in our adventure, please email me and I will remove you from the list of subscribers. Take care and happy trails!!

Krystal, Erika, and Mia

Advertisement



22nd February 2008

Woot!
Sounds like it's going to be quite an adventure : ) I'm a wee bit jealous I must say.
26th February 2008

Jealous as usual
I'm sure you will have a great time along with a tiring time. I will be thinking about you. Be safe and have fun. Love ya, Corri and Aubrey
16th March 2008

It takes a special kind of mom....
I flip through the multitudes of blogs nad now and then I have find someone such as yourself, who I think is likeminded with someone such as myself. I applaud your bravery and your passion for taking yourself and two daughters on the road. There are few of us who can do it. I know each day is a challenge and a blessing. Enjoy them all....

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb