Kansas City, MO May 31,2009


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Tulsa
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

We took a little side trip up to Kansas City on Sunday. After a couple hours of riding, we arrived at the Nelson Museum near the Plaza in Kansas City. I tend to forget how fantastic that place is. Ancient stone figures from Egypt in the time of Moses reminds me of our today's scripture of Moses leaving the luxury of the palace in Egypt and fleeing to the land of Midian after he killed the Egyptian overseer.

Exodus 2:11-22

I've always believed that Moses could not have become the man he was had he not gone to the desert of Midian. It was there he found a wife, and it was there that he found God. We forget that during the period of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, God dealt with people not as a group but as individuals. It was there in Midian that he had his burning bush experience. The whole conversation at that burning bush covered the subject of 1) Who is God? and 2) Who is Moses. "If Pharaoh asks, who shall I say sent me?" God's reply was "I AM". "Tell him I AM sent me." This speaks to the eternal nature of God. On this ride, God is the same in Illinois as in Oklahoma. On your personal journey with God, I AM is the same at your workplace as in your church and your home. God does not change. God IS! What a comforting and reassuring thing to know that God is with us always.

2. Moses found himself at that burning bush. "Lord, I'm slow of speech, why not send my brother Aaron?" But God had chosen Moses. Moses had to say "yes" so that God's plan would be fulfilled. That moment at the burning bush shaped the rest of his life. What "YES" will shape my life?

On Sunday afternoon, we headed south through Kansas toward Oklahoma. It was hot and we drank plenty of water (and A& W root beer). We joined backup with route 66 in Tulsa. My friend Denny Larson from High School is going to meet us for breakfast this morning.

Advertisement



2nd June 2009

Stormy weather
It sounds like that storms happen even when the weather isn't involved. So the question is, how many sermons have already been started as you travel? By the way when you travel in Kansas you have to watch out for Doctor Killers.
3rd June 2009

Love to you both
I'm enjoying the blog--it was a great idea. Keep safe and keep having fun. It's a wonderful opportunity whose knock you've answered! Love you--Brenda

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb