Long Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Toledo
August 29th 2007
Published: August 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Part I
I arrived at the airport without much hassle. Believe it or not, the 7-11 in the MTR station was closed, so I had to go to one on the street. That was pretty much the only hitch the whole morning. Reading material for the trip: The Quiet American by Graham Greene (Paul Farmer’s favorite author), Catfish and Mandala by Andrew X. Pham, and I may refresh my memory on Mountains Beyond Mountains. The two new books were disserted in the hostel room. A copy of Salmon Rushdie’s Satanic Verses had also been disserted, but I heard a roommate talking about how he thought he’d take a look at it. Both of my roommates seemed to have interesting stories, from what I heard last night. I figure my backpack that I got in Shanghai still has some life in it if somebody doesn’t mind its one broken zipper, and I also left Everlasting Love. It went pretty fast on the train. It was a clever premise—the story seemed to be inspired by a case study in a psychological report, which appeared in an appendix.
>>>Posted and written later<<<
Part II
The trip back was fairly uneventful. I did some reading, although once I got tired, I couldn’t focus enough to read productively, and was mostly kept entertained by videos. I saw Shrek the Third and Bubble Fiction: Boom or Bust (バブルへGO!!~タイムマシンはドラム式). The second is a Japanese movie that I thought was pretty good. There were some themes of it that I didn’t like, and one detail at the end that I didn’t like, but I would say it was one of the most fun to watch movies that I’ve seen in a while. I also watched some other TV programs. I wasn’t able to get any sleep on the flight.
I’m happy to be home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb