2 Sailings out to Johnson's Island


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Sandusky
August 6th 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.4959, -82.7326

Surprisingly, I slept in til 7:30am in the morning. I did wake up several times during the night. I would take my iphone's flashlight to help me get to the tiny bathroom.

I walked down to the public bathroom. Forgot my towel, so used my robe. It was good to take a shower. I felt like I was walking down MBI Haughton Hall back in the day, taking my change of clothes, shampoo and stuff in a small bucket.

Keith and Brenda made omelets for us for breakfast. We sat out on the deck. The weather was beautiful. Bright blue skies.

Right after breakfast, we headed out for our first sailing. We went went out later in the evening for a 'sunset cruise'. I prefer the 2nd sailing better than the first. I guess I like the coolness of the night and the calmness of the water compared to the heat of the summer sun beaming down on us.

Once we got out in the bay, it was sweet to look back at the shore and see the amusement park. There were other boaters, even kyakers that we came across. We headed over to Johnson's Island which is a ritzy area, private homes and pretty nice week-end cottages there. We came upon about 20 kyakwers that were rowing around the island. Note photo

After the guys jumped into the water to cool off, then Keith started the grill. We had hamburgers and hot dogs. I never did get into the water. Just happy to be on the snail boat and enjoy the day.

Mid afternoon, we headed back to the dock. Once we docked, I took a good 1.5 hour nap. Felt good. For supper, Brenda made grilled chicken and pasta salad plus steamed corn. We sat down inside to eat - easier with the corn on the cob.

Just before sunset, Keith got the boat ready for us to sail again. We left around 8:00pm and headed out. The wind was soft and the sky was beautiful. The waters were calm too. We found the International Space Station streaking across at 9:30pm. They had never seen that aircraft in the sky. We ended going back to the dock probably after 10pm.

Again, I loved sailing at night - more peaceful and not SOOO hot.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb