Nova Scotia--Here I Come!


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

2005 BMW R1200 RT2005 BMW R1200 RT2005 BMW R1200 RT

The R1200RT (boxer engine) weighs only 550 pounds dry and is an ideal adventure bike for long distance riding through Canada. With a 7 gallon tank and the ability to average 40-50 mpg, I can go a long ways on a tank of petro.

Good morning fellow motorcycle riders and those who love to travel via my Travel Blog...



For the past year I have been planning a motorcycle "adventure" ride to Nova Scotia. Many of you followed my 6,000 mile ride in 2008 riding from North Dakota to Alaska via the Alaskan Highway and returning via a ferry from Alaska to Washington. I completed that trip on my 2005 Honda Goldwing but due to some back problems, I had to switch to a lighter bike. The 2005 BMW R1200RT is my motorcycle of choice and allows me flexibility to travel in some "off road" conditions.

This adventure will be just as exciting and I wanted to give you advance notice so that when you start to see email traffic arrive on your computer that you don't delete because you think it's some "spam" mail. Oc course, if you no longer wish to subscribe to my travel blog, please delete. Be sure and recommend the Travel Blog to others who may want to follow the route.

My tentative departure will be Saturday, May 22, 2010 and I expect to take three weeks to accomplish the adventure. I will try and blog every day providing I can get WIFI.

My route will take me to Winnipeg, over the top of Lake Superior, through some Canadian wilderness area in Ontario, down to Montreal, Quebec, follow the St. Lawrence Seaway on the north side, take a ferry to New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, the Cabot Trail in Nova Scotia, catch a ferry from NS to Maine, pop back up into Ottawa and then home through the Great Lakes area and trying to take in the Mackinac Bridge and then home....7,000 miles of pure riding enjoyment (rain, snow, or shine!)

So sit back and enjoy the Adventure. I love to hear your comments so please take some time and shoot me some feedback. I can only imagine the scenery along the way as only a trip to Canada can produce.

"Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul." ~Author Unknown

Have a great day everyone....Rob


Advertisement



9th May 2010

YEAH!
3rd year of supporting your ride!! Soldiers' Angels is by your side.
9th May 2010

You're livin' the dream, man!
10th May 2010

your trip
Hey Rob, I am hoping when you are here that you and I can drive down to Mass to see Aunt Ethel about a three hour drive one way from here. Brad
10th May 2010

Ride
Sounds as if adventure is in the making. Was hoping that I could ride with you the first 100 miles but am not sure on account of pending activities. I wish you well and pray for your physical safety and also for your spiritual safety as well. (Matthew 24:4)Please take LOTS of picture for I would enjoy seeing them upon your return. Blessings In HIS service Jeff
10th May 2010

You have some fun man
I am so happy for you. I love seeing and hearing your adventures on these trips. Have a wonderful ride.
10th May 2010

I can't believe you are going on another trip! Hope your back gets better by that time.
10th May 2010

Travel Safe.
Seems a bit early in the year for a trip along the border, but best wishes for sunshine and...dress warm. Rain or Shine, I wish I was going with you. Adam Heck and I did the trip along the north shore of Lake Superior and down across the Mackinac Bridge, then back across it the next morning and down to Green Bay and up into Door County, WI. Great memories of that excursion. I will be reading every submission. Thanks for your great documentation of your trips....Rick
10th May 2010

Back in the saddle again
Rob, I am looking forward to your next travel blog starting 24 May with anticipation. If it is remotely as good as your last I expect some great things. Have a safe, fun trip!! C
21st May 2010

Have Fun
Rob, I look forward to someday being able to do this myself. Looking forward to the kickoff tonight!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb