Commerce, GA to Greensboro, NC


Advertisement
Published: March 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Didn’t like last night at all. Being in a motel was really strange and I was concerned about the camper and car, were they safe, and I was a little uncomfortable too. Funny how living in a campground, in such close proximity of others, I get a sense of peace and safety.

Oscar was certainly on guard all night, so it was better having him with me. I did sleep, and the camper and car were fine so who said that worry does no good.

We woke about 7 and had coffee and listened to the news on the tv that got countless channels. Had a hot shower without the benefit of an outside breeze and packed to head out.

I was able to make camping reservations for tonight, the campground about 4 3/4 hrs away so it would be an easy day. I needed one. That will leave me with a 6 hr run tomorrow to Dave and Lisa’s and I have to get through Washington before 4 so it will be an early start for me.

Today’s drive was entirely on 85 and brought me through GA, SC and into NC where I am now in Greensboro. The terrain was slightly hilly with lots of beef ranches and farms and lakes. The water levels were low but after last year to have any water is a good thing. There was a sign for Lake Hartwell State Park and a scenic by-way nearby so I put that on my to do list. I would like to take several weeks to explore this part of the country.

There were some miles of construction but it wasn’t bad so the drive was fairly effortless. This route is a mix between 81 and 95. 95 is very busy but fairly flat which is good for towing, where 81 is hilly but really nice scenery. The only really bad thing about 85 is the lack of campgrounds this time of year. There are some but most are closed for the winter.

When I got to the campground I had a long conversation with the owner/manager about my travels and the camper and car and where they had been. It seemed that the younger fellow that works there lived in Jim Thorpe and skied at Camelback and Jack Frost and fly fishes the local rivers. It’s a small world.

They gave me menus for 3 restaurants nearby that deliver as I said I didn’t want to unhook the car. I ended up making myself a feast of steak, fried onions and potatoes and sliced tomato, all of the ingredients I had here.

Another walk for Oscar and it’s settle down for the night. I have 57 channels!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.406s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 99; dbt: 0.2937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb