Boardwalk to the treehouses. They sat right along the Cashie River.
The Cashie (pronounced ca-shy-a) River Treehouses and Campground was a spartan but interesting site. A boardwalk along the river provided access to several cabins on stilts with trees growing through the cabins. We made a road trip from here to the Outer Banks. Nags Head was a colorful tourist trap. We parked the Jeep and walked a short distance to the ocean. The Wright Brothers National Memorial at Kill Devils Hill was a highlight of our southern journey. Standing right where powered flight was launched makes the hairs on your arms stand up. Truly inspirational! The members of Cashie Baptist Church (est. 1770) warmly welcomed us Sunday morning. The next day we visited the Hope Plantation and got a private tour by Sam. On the way back we had to stop at Bertie County Peanuts where we met one of the Baptist church members who owned the farm. We travelled further east to Edenton to see the Roanoke River Lighthouse and the oldest house in North Carolina.
We are native Ohioans. We retired in 2022, sold our home, and bought a motorhome that we live and travel in full time. Milo, our 2009 Tiffin Phaeton 36 QSH and Mazie, our 2020 Jeep Wrangler Willys help us meander the US looking for adventure and meeting people along the way. ... full info
SiteOur site has a grill and concrete pad. Mike grilling the burgers. We enjoyed the 9-hole frisbee golf course that was walking distance from the campground.
Nags HeadToo chilly to stay on the beach, but had to check it out.
Nags HeadThe waves were kicking up in the 20-25 mph wind. The water was as cold as it looks!
Wright BrothersThis National Monument at Kitty Hawk was one of the highlights of our trip South. We learned so much about Orville & Wilbur.
ReproductionThis is a full scale reproduction of the plane that took powered flight from a dream to reality. The plane weighed 605 lbs with a wing span of 40' 4".
Flight PathDecember 17, 1903 Orville flew for 12 seconds, so he was the first of the brothers to fly. Wilbur, however had the longest flight, 852' and lasted 59 seconds. This path has markers to show how far each flight went that day. We walked it almost as fast as they flew it.
Memorial on Kill Devil HillOne of the interesting facts mentioned was that Kill Devil hill has moved from where it was when the Wright Brothers flew here. Sand dunes shift. In 1929 local framers took it upon themselves to plant grass to keep the hill from continuing to move.
Wright Brothers Memorial"Achieved by dauntless resolution and unconquerable faith"
There is a sidewalk up Kill Devil Hill and around the memorial.
Wright Brothers Memorial"In commemoration of the conquest of the air"
We enjoyed the Ranger talk, "Wind & Sand". It was an outdoor talk that included a lot of information on how the brothers chose Kitty Hawk and the struggle to achieve flight.
Hanger/WorkshopThe brothers had 2 buildings that were used as their workshop and sleeping quarters when at Kitty Hawk. The ones on the grounds are reconstructions of what would have been there.
King-Bazemore HouseThis 1763 home is a two gambrel roofed house with brick end walls. It has a "hall and parlor" design. The home has been restored and furnished based on the 1778 inventory of owner, William King.
Hope Plantation Mansion, back Built on an above ground basement that was entered from the front left corner of the house. The house is furnished in period pieces, including many pieces of North Carolina cabinet maker furniture.
Hope Plantation Mansion, frontThis is the restored home of former North Carolina Governor, David Stone, c. 1803. The first floor rooms are entered from a center through hallway. The second floor has a large drawing room and library, which housed Stone's 1400 volumes.
CottonThere were so many fields of cotton throughout NC. Beautiful!
Roanoke River Lighthouse. The First Roanoke River Lighthouse was constructed six miles east of Plymouth. After it was destroyed by fire in 1885, the lighthouse was rebuilt. That lighthouse was damaged in 1886 It was when ice floe in Albemarle Sound hit it and it was partially submerged. Construction of the third lighthouse began that year. By 1933 the lighthouse was automated, and its staff was withdrawn. The lighthouse was decommissioned by the U.S. Coast Guard in 1941.
Roanoke River LighthousePurchased in 1955 by tugboat captain Emmitt Wiggins and relocated to Edenton for use as a private residence.
Roanoke River LighthouseDamaged by Hurricane Isabel, the lighthouse was moved across the Albemarle Sound to the Edenton waterfront in May, 2009. In 2012 the lighthouse restoration was completed and opened to the public.