What I've Learnt About America So Far Pt. 2


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's been a little over a month since I arrived in the United States. I shouldn't compare my two nations, but for anyone interested out there in travelling to the US of A, here's a few things I've learnt about the US (besides shitty airlines services).

1. THE PEDESTRIAN CROSSING INDICATORS MAKE DIFFERENT NOISES - this may seem like the simplest, craziest thing to notice but when the cars drive on the opposite side of the road resulting in the pedestrian looking in the other direction before crossing, this shit could save lives. That little walking dude has a countdown BUT there's no "didididiididididididididiididididid" like in Australia (ok, I don't know how accurately portray that noise in words...). So you have to focus!

2. Other side of the road - yeah as I mentioned above, they drive on the other side of the road and the drivers seat is on the other side and it's a bit backwards but you get used to it. You do feel a bit stupid going to get in the drivers side though.

3. Two words - Imperial system. Or as I like to call it "stupid-ass system". Why America? Hopefully one day they will swap to metric but shiiiitt carry a phone with a convertor on it or actually learn. But really?

4. Food - get ready for deep-fried, extra portions of everything! I'm in "the South" and a delicacy they love is "Grits". And by delicacy I mean it NASTY. Don't attempt. Well actually, heap it with salt or cheese, THEN try a small amount of it. BBQ in Australia means "grill" to Americans. A BBQ here is a way of cooking everything, not a snag in a sandwhich. Oh and cheese - yellow American cheese - a big pile of nope. If you don't each much, order the smallest size cause you won't finish it. Take away boxes (doggie bags) are the norm and so are free refills.

5. Geographical-based attitudes - In Australia, country people and city people are different.. slightly. But in the US, where someone lives is a huge indicator of attitude. Southerners (who I've had the most exposure too) are absolutely lovely - they always say hi or smile at you when they walk past and they are complete strangers. But Southerners can have VERY different value systems (such as religion) and if they from Texas, their accents are painful. Northerners can be a bit rude without really realising it, but have similar values. People in LA don't have time for you and are a bit weird but on the whole, Americans are great, patriotic people.

6. Speaking of patriotism, the national anthem is Star Spangled Banner, not Stars and Stripes Forever or America the Beautiful. It's just so confusing. And when you sing it, hand over your heart!

7. Sports - sports are BIG. Spring (January to say April) is Basketball season, the rest is Football season. Baseball fits in there somewhere too.

8. "MMHHHMMMMMMM" - On the first day I got to Chapel Hill, someone opened a door for me to my dorm. I replied "thanks!" and they replied:

"MMHHHMMMM". This was the most ghetto sounding thing I've ever heard, to the point where I thought it was quite rude. After clarification from an American, it's not. Don't fret if they make that noise towards you, they are acknowledging the "thanks", it's rude for them not too. They might also say "sure thing", "hmm" or "you're welcome". They do NOT say "no worries" or "you're right" like us Aussies and according to the American I spoke to (shoutout to Rachel!) they might find that rude. I always say "you're right" so I'm trying hard to get rid of it from my vocab.

Also y'all in the South. Pretty self explanatory.



Um that's sorta all I can think of at the moment. There's so many more but you try coming up with an exhaustive list when you're supposed to be doing a paper.



Till next time, y'all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb