Open Skies


Advertisement
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Getting up this morning was a little rough. But I managed to do it, get myself showered and dressed and food in my belly.

Once we got to the venue, I knew it would be a long day, so I asked the guys where I could get some caffeine. i.e. pop. “Next door.” I wasn’t functioning well and sort of gave them a blank stare. One of the guys I’ve worked with a lot over the last few days said, “I need to get one too. I’ll walk over with you.” There you go. So we had a nice chat and got some Mt. Dew and things. I was informed that Appalachian is said will all short ‘a’s like in “apple” rather than a long a like “age.” While we were walking over, he said, “They also have milk, in case it has the same effect as yesterday.” (Kyle told them that I don’t drink coffee, but just milk in the morning makes me extra chipper.)

We did a full run-thru of the entire show, full everything, dress rehearsal thing. Notes from Julia and Sarah. Ran a few songs and broke for lunch. Then we didn’t have to come back until just before dinner! After a 12 hour day in the theater yesterday, it was a good reprieve to get a nap.

We had lunch at a little diner, and I showed Dana how to use a jukebox. To the post office and to the hotel for naps. Oh, it was a wonderful nap! Back up in time to get return a call about a cookie recipe and change (back into work clothes from my jammies) to head to the venue.

I felt so much better this evening. In fact, I was bouncing off the walls again. The question of the day: Are you so excited? One of the children said she was “excited up to heaven.” I think the afternoon off was good for them too.

The show was pretty amazing. I was actually a bit surprised at how well everything went and came together- sounded great, looked good, kids were dressed and on time, adults nailed their lines and songs. Didn’t look like our first show at all. Afterwards, we hit Wendy’s and collapsed.

Here’s the thing about tour. I like to flirt. There’s lots of guys around. The more I flirt, the more work they do/better they do it. Plus I have more fun. Sarah asked me yesterday what I was doing. “Flirting.” But since we played a college, (and thus there were lots of college guys around) I was keeping my options open and didn’t have, what she referred to as “a favorite.” Yes, when we’re at other venues, I even flirt with the old guys. I never have to see them again, it gets more stuff done, and I have a little fun too. I did that a lot at this venue. Theaters with two Jasons tend to be good for that. Sarah tends to do it now too, knowing the benefits of it. Kyle does on occasion, but more often at restaurants with the servers (but he got in trouble with his other friends at home for doing it.) Onto some more fresh meat!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb