Room for Squares


Advertisement
Published: January 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Drive 1.25.09


Today was long, to say the least.

It started early. I was bouncing off the walls though- so excited to play theatre again, especially with Sarah and Kyle. All morning at breakfast I was asking the kids, “Are you so excited?!?!” Most of them said something to the tune of, “No. We have rehearsals all day.” I tried to explain that that was a good thing, but they just saw it as a fully day of work and no play.

Once we got to the venue and were working, I told Sarah I felt like I had giggles in my arms- my insides wanted to giggle, but I was trying not to, so I had to shake my arms to not giggle. In reality, I ended up giggling while shaking my arms. It’s good to be back at work. The locals asked Kyle what kind of coffee they gave me, and he, once again, explained that I get that wired on just milk. I love what I do (mostly.)

It was a long day, though. Lots of running songs over and over and fixing things. Julia, the producer, is here too, so that adds another element to things. Lighting-wise, everything went really smoothly. We didn’t have colors in the booms for a long time, but UPS was faithful and finally got it here!

The afternoon was spent trying to level the projector. The guys came up with some ways of rigging it, and I had some other ideas but tried to stay out of it and let them be guys. But it wasn’t working. So I made some calls to Dale and we figured out some options. The guys would much rather do their ideas a few times, even though I was looking at the physics of it, knowing (and stating) that it would never work that way. Finally I got a shot at my idea. We got it level, but it wasn’t quite square, so they decided to try something else. I know there was a way to get it level and square, but there were 3 guys and just me, so I conceded and went to was the spanset juice off of my hands. I wished I could’ve sent the guys away and done it myself, but the truth is, I needed their muscle. I’m simply not long enough to lift the projector and do spansets. Oh well. The final position they put it in tonight is neither level nor square, so we’ll play with it more in the morning.

Instead of going to dinner, I spent the hour running around to a zillion different stores (most of which were closed for “winter hours”) trying to find the necessary hardware and being on the phone with other stores and Dale and Uncle Dave.

Today is one of the days that makes me really wish I would’ve been an engineering major. Maybe that will be my post-tour plan. I’ll go to school to engineer things. Too bad none of my theatre prerequisites will count.

Run-thrus and things went well today. More to do in the morning!

I took some fun pics today of the stage reflecting off the sound booth. Enjoy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb