Camping, Awesome!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
July 10th 2015
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.7183, -74.1162

Day 2 of camping in the Adirondacks was just what I really enjoy. The rain had continued the entire night, which was actually a nice sound on the tarp Alex had placed above our tent. We remained bone dry the entire night. Alex slept in, so I hiked a bit around the lake. As I approached the camp, I walked up on a deer, probably 10 feet away. How I was able to get that close I am not sure. It looked up as we noticed each other, and slowly walked away. What a great interaction with nature. Alex woke up a little later, and instead of subjecting my boy to the usual campfire grub of some sort of dirty eggs, we headed to town for some good county pancakes and omelets, as well as coffee. The day before I learned there was a Garnet mine in the area. Always looking for the "treasure" I found out about a trail leading to the abandoned mine where there were still token Garnets to be found. Following breakfast, Alex and I ventured out along the trail where we found a little for both of us. Being a real abandoned mine area,
I believe that is my son up there.I believe that is my son up there.I believe that is my son up there.

Alex exploring the high points of the Garnet mine while I remained below.
there were very high cliffs and rocky areas where one misstep could lead to a very long fall. Of course, Alex made a B-line for the high rocky areas, while I walked, mostly bent over, examining the rocks below. The area above provided for some excellent views, as I had to remember my parental duty to watch over the safety of my boy and scampered up the cliff myself to join him. We collected some Garnets from the area and headed back to the camp. At a nearby camp, we met a newly-wed older couple, and I taught my son the art of patience as we spent the better part of an hour listening to their drunk tales. Well, maybe I am stretching it a little. I practiced the art of patience, Alex is already pretty laid back. We returned to our camp where I swung in my hammock and enjoyed the quiet. Alex had a pretty good fire going which I maintained long after he retired to the tent. Just as a side note, the night before, my air mattress apparently sprung a leak. We agreed he would have the honors of the deflated side tonight. As I entered the tent, I found the boy comfortably sleeping on my side. One shove and he easily slid, face first, onto the non-inflated side of the tent. To my surprise, he did not notice the relocation until the wee hours of the morning, 😊
Tomorrow, Pirate Day on the Hudson River.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

That's a fireThat's a fire
That's a fire

Alex found that Birch bark is a really good fuel for signalling.


13th July 2015

That looks very exciting! I wish I was hiking up that giant rock right now!
13th July 2015

Great stories!! I know the inflated raft all too well and how one could attempt to blow it back up all night. Sounds like Mother Nature is looking out for you two. The fire picture was great as was the cliff shots, although the Mom in me
holds my breath. Be careful you two. Love you both an want you back in one piece. Mom/Nana

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb