First full day in NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 20th 2009
Published: June 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.7528, -73.9853

Today I was woken up early when Kelsie sent a text telling us she was on her way to the airport. I got up and worked a little and then got ready to leave. I woke Nikki up and asked if she was going to go to breakfast with me. She got some clothes on and we went down to grab something to eat but, because we are are the awesome parents we are, we let Regan sleep.

Nikki walked me to the subway station and I got on the subway to head to JFK. When I got to the transfer stop to catch the AirTrain, Kelsie sent me a text that her flight was delayed. I got to the airport and went to the ticket counter where I was told that they wouldn't let me past security because her flight wasn't in the air so they suggested that I go to another terminal where there were shops and a food court and wait for a while. Then back to the Delta Terminal and to the gate to wait for Kelsie's flight. Once I got Kelsie, we jumped on the AirTrain back to the Subway and to the hotel.

While I was at the airport Nikki and Regan got ready (which included working out for Regan) and then went to pick up our Mary Poppins Tickets. Did some shopping and had lunch in times square at Ray's Pizza.

When Kelsie and I met up with them at the hotel, Kelsie was hungry so we decided to go back Rays and have some pizza too. Then we went to M&M World and the Hershey Store. The we walked over to 5th Avenue to the World of Disney Store.

After shopping we headed back to the hotel to get changed to go to see Mary Poppins. We decided that we would grab some quick dinner at Chipotle across from the hotel, then went by the Gershwin Theater and purchased tickets to go see Wicked on Wednesday. Nikki really enjoyed the play when we saw it last week and wanted to see it again.

We got to the New Amsterdam Theater and found our seats on the second row of the theater. The play was really good and sitting that close to the stage gives you a whole different vantage point.

At the end of the play they asked for donations for Broadway Cares which provides funding for AIDS reserach. One thing you could "purchase" with a donation was a backstage tour and a meet and greet with the actors who played Mary, Burt, Jane and Michael. We decided that this would be a great experience so we splurged (and made Kelsie stay up later than she wanted to) and donated. It was really fun and something I don't regret doing.

Back to the hotel and in bed, ready for an early day tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb