So it began


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
February 24th 2015
Published: February 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - Friday 20th February 2015 Dublin – New York

I’m currently in the aeroplane somewhere over the coast of Canada.

I was on my own in a seat of 2 for 15mins, before a fella came along and took the aisle seat, so every time I need to move I have to wake him up, also on a side note, why are people sleeping on a morning flight…like it was 11am when we boarded, so they would have slept the whole night long, anyway, the guy, well he started to try and talk to me, I was doing my best not to encourage chat, I only briefly made eye contact (to ensure he was not a serial killer, you can tell these things by sight of course) I had my headphones in and was clearing watching Game of Thrones (season 4 episode 2, if you’re interested) and he started to try and chat, so I just nodded and looked back to my TV screen, then during the safety video (which I was watching and paying attention to….like I was supposed to be) he tapped me on the shoulder and asked me why Ireland is not part of the UK and what’s the deal with the North of Ireland being English. I said if he was really interested in Irish history there were plenty of web sites he could look up….. I’m not getting into that conversation on a plane to New York.

It is strange stilling beside someone who is asleep also, I feel like I have to sit very still and be quite, but everything I want is in my bag under my seat so I accidently keep bumping him, also he has his leg right up again the border of my leg space, so I keep hitting it with my leg. I did think for a little while he was dead, but luckily he is not.

Hmmmmmm what else, O yeah the food, I ate all my dinner….well not the weird salad (mayonnaise hiding pasta, with limp lettuce a tomato wedge and a suspicious cucumber or pickle – I couldn’t decide) but I ate the chicken thing in some kind of salsa and even 3 potato cubes (the cubes were mushy and didn’t taste like actual potato….look not even 1 day into my trip and my taste has expanded to include mysterious mushy food that may or may not be potato!!

Hmmmmm trying to decide if anything else noteworthy has happened in the last 5hrs, O the flight its self is very bumpy….I nearly spilt my orange juice on my laptop twice now (I’ve stopped drinking, figured it was safer). The pilot has been chatting to us loads today, he seem friendly, he is keeping us updated as to how much longer the seat belt light will be on and why there are bump (or air pockets), if you’re interested it’s because we are flying across the air stream and not along it.



So I think that is all from the flight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb